We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean safe and friendly with good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Step Town Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Step Town Motel
Save
You added Step Town Motel to your Saves list
Muhima-Kiyovu | nr St Famille Church, Kigali, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kigali
Warwick, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean safe and friendly with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Very much enjoyed our stay here. It was a comfortable friendly start to our trip. Staff were all so helpful and John the manager always smiling. The location is fine and safe and the walk to the centre most interesting.
Would have preferred a room at the front as our room at the back looked out onto a wall.
For onward travel you can arrange your own taxi cheaper than offered by hotel.
Would certainly stay here again if returning to Kigali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
45
29
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had a lovely one night stay at this pleasant, bright and clean hotel within walking distance from the centre. The room I stayed in had a small terrace with table and chairs which overlooked the city. John Yves the Manager was very helpful. There is an option to exchange books and also an up to date Bradt guide on Rwanda, which came in handy for me.
Breafast could be taken on the terrace and was good with a good selection. However, breakfast is extra.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try and make sure you have one of the rooms that has a terrace with outdoor tables and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Many more pros than cons. The pros included spotless rooms and grounds; the uniformed staff seemed to be cleaning constantly. John, the manager, is warm, gracious, and helpful. The views are sweeping. We also appreciated the very good lighting in our room, the leakproof showers, and the good breakfasts.

The low cold-water pressure in the shower was one drawback; it took a bit of fiddling to avoid being burned. And the drive up the unpaved hill could be off-putting, though we were prepared from reading previous reviewers' comments. Once we learned the path into the center of town, it took us less than 15 minutes of walking, and we enjoyed feeling that we were in a real neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good price, clean, reasonable location, good breakfast, staff were helpful and responded promptly to all enquiries. Hotel is a little off the main road which does make in quiet from street noise. Rooms do not have air con but when we were there we did not need it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at Step Town, all arranged via emails, John collected us from airport and drove us to motel, giving good info about Kigali on way. Accommodation is great, very clean, nets on windows, no Mosquitos in room! Food was also good, had nice local food choices on menu.
Don't be put off by the road up to the motel, it's very safe to stay there and makes for an interesting short walk to the city.
We are heading back there for another couple of nights tomorrow if John has a room for us.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Don't be fooled by the bad road to get to the hotel, once you arrive hotel ticks every box needed for a short stay in Kigali. I arrived at airport with driver waiting in arrivals, at the hotel room was clean, price was reasonable, housekeeping done each day, internet was good, no problem with hot water or power. Hotel is in good location. Don't expect 5 star quality rooms, but if all you want is a basic, clean, reasonably priced and very friendly place to stay in Kigali, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Step Town for a few nights and my entire stay was wonderful. Although the room was small, it was clean, neat, had a balcony with a beautiful view, and serviced daily by housekeeping. A light breakfast is included with the price of the room and I tried many other things off of their lunch/dinner menu. Everything was delicious. The staff here are incredibly friendly, willing to answer my questions about the area and to provide assistance with cab service. While the surrounding area may seem a little rough, I had no problems every walking around by myself and was able to walk to the city centre and loved the easy access to the shopping centre stores and places to eat. I also found this to be a great place to meet other people who are traveling as the bar/restaurant gets busy at night with guests and visitors. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to budget and mid-range travelers to Kigali.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Step Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step Town Motel

Address: Muhima-Kiyovu | nr St Famille Church, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STEP TOWN MOTEL is a first class modern motel. We are located in the centre of Kigali city near St Famille church KIYOVU MUHIMA a quiet, secure and refreshing area where you will enjoy the best views of the city from the motel. We provide accommodation with modern facilities, including en-suite bathrooms, television-DSTV, satellite dish and wireless internet. Also available is mini-bar and restaurant serving western and African cuisine. We do offer airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Step Town Hotel Kigali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Step Town Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.