We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant

Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant
Avenue Lac Muhazi - Kimihurura | Remera, Kigali 250, Rwanda
250 788 505 293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 79 Restaurants in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Can Tho, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of my favs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ate at Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant last night, sharing a meat and vege platter with a friend. I love the food at this place and these were great choices, but there are many things I like about Lalibela apart from the food. The ambience, the choice between the veranda and the garden, the welcome I get each time I return, the open fire when it is cooler and so on. I have some wonderful memories of meals here. thanks Lalibela

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Come for a lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The best thing You can have here - is their lunch buffet. It is very cheap and you can enjoy a lot of traditional Euthiopian dihes. Their dishes much resemble dishes which I've had in Ethiopia. Everything is extremely spicy - be ready for that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummm!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have always loved ethiopian food and was happy to find this place in kigali - the menu has many vegetarian options, i love the chickpeas sauce. The ambiance and general look of the place is nothing to scream home about and the staff are a little sluggish but if you're like me and here just for the ethiopian food, then absolutely check it out! I tried the ethiopian coffee and was not too impressed :(

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This has become one of our favorite lunch spots, as they serve a convenient buffet everyday. The cost is decent and the quantity depends on you. Some spicy and some not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Dinner is good at Lalibela.... I have eaten here a couple of times with friends and the buffet has always been good! The staff are friendly and it is nice to sit around the fire after dinner with a glass of wine!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.