We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Kigali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Hills Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golf Hills Residence to your Saves list
Golf Hills Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kigali B.P. 7177, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Osaka, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Kigali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at Golf Hills Residence last summer. I chose this hotel because of very good reputation on this web site. I was very happy with nice breakfast, very kind and helpful staff, and clean and safe room. I will book this hotel again this summer. I want to say thanks to all who recommended this hotel here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
28
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is the third time I'm staying in this place and like a good wine they are getting better with the time
What was my surprise to get an upgrade on my last stay in a beautiful spacious suite with large bathroom
Thanks Antoinette
Keep up with the good attitude and good customer oriented service

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrive in the early morning hour from USA and was picked up promptly by drivers who were hired by the hotel. The price of the transfer was included and we just tipped the drivers. We were met graciously by the hotel staff and went through the check in process. Our rooms were in the next building over from the breakfast and check in area. Room 19 was huge and had a huge bathroom. We were only there one night but thought that it would be good for a slightly longer stay if in the area. It was close to the airport which made it convenient for us.
The breakfast was good - they had some food set out as in a buffet but they also would cook a hot breakfast for you. The communication prior to our arrival in setting up the booking with the hotel was very easy and they were quick to respond. I would recommend - it's not fancy but very clean and nice.

Room Tip: Number 19 was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a great option providing spotless rooms, a good breakfast, and really helpful staff. Everything worked well (hot water, wifi, fans etc - often luxuries in East Africa). No complaints and would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in on a recent trip to Rwanda (April, 2014). We found the hotel to have a very good view of Embassy row, along with some view of the city center of Kigali. Overall, the room was clean and spacious.

We were greeted with a somewhat brusque manner by the resident manager. In the span of about five minutes, we heard two things repeatedly from her: 1) I sleep here if you need me; 2) You have to pay for your drinks.

If you are in need of a decent place in Kigali, you should consider this location. If you are after something that will blow you away - you need to keep looking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Golf Hills Residence in April 2014. As two Canadian females travelling to a new country, we wanted to stay at a place that made us feel safe and that's exactly how we felt at Golf Hills. Antoinette was a wonderful host who made us feel right at home. She was extremely receptive to any and all of our questions. She was always available to help out.

Upon arrival at Kigali airport, we were picked up by a lovely driver who we also used many other times. We stayed for 8 nights and really got to know many of the hard working, kind and devoted staff at Golf Hills. The food was delicious, the wifi really worked well and the view from the balcony was fantastic.

I would highly recommend this place. Thank you Antoinette and to the entire staff at Golf Hills. MERCI! Claire & Erin

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent fantastic days at the Golf Hills Residence! The Hotel is beautiful and has a nice view. The stuff is very friendly and it was very interesting to talk to them about Kigali, places to visit and other Ruanda-topics. They also had answers to our questions about organizing our trip and found solutions for all our wishes. The breakfast und dinner is really good and the service is perfect. You will not find any insects in your room because they do a lot to keep them outside. We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we come back to Kigali!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golf Hills Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hills Residence

Address: Kigali B.P. 7177, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golf Hills Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Golf Hills Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hills Residence Hotel Kigali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Hills Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.