We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place this is” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Hills Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golf Hills Residence to your Saves list
Golf Hills Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kigali B.P. 7177, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place this is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is just amazing. The facilities are excellent and clean, the staff are friendly and always helpful, the manager Antoinette is an angel really. My best experience is the view of Kigali at night. From my room the room was just magical. Security is top notch and the environment clean and serene. Totally recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    39
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
28
16
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with excellent customer service. The rooms are clean, pleasant and well proportioned. The views from the hotel overlook the city's golf resort and are a treat. The decor of the hotel is pleasant and uplifting. The manager is hospitable, friendly and kind - she will look after your interests. Five stars and well deserved. I will definitely come again - you wont find better value for money in Rwanda!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visit Kigali on a regular basis for business and stayed one week at this hotel during my last stay.

The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is friendly and helpful.

The wifi is free, available throughout the hotel and can even support a Skype call in good quality which is a rare treat in Kigali.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Kigali airport to be met by the hotels recommended taxi driver 'Steady Eric', who went on to take us around from meeting to meeting during our weeks visit (and I'd also recommend with 5 stars if there was an equivalent Taxi Advisor). The hotel lived up to its name, more like a house than a hotel, and the staff were wonderful.
Clean rooms, plenty of hot water and always a warm welcome on return after a day full of meetings, I'd highly recommend this hotel if you want somewhere reasonable with a personal touch.
Not in the centre but only 10 mins by taxi, it's the place I'll be staying at next time I go back to Kigali - what stands out at Golf Hills Residence is that they actually really care about their customers in everything they do.


Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From check in to check out excellent service from a dedicated staff. Great freshly cooked homely food and nice cold beer. Golf Hills is proof positive that big budget hotels are not the only option for African capital cities. The GHR meets the need of the business traveller who wants a quiet stay in a hotel offering efficient service in comfortable and secure surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antsirabe, Madagascar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I went there for a romantic week end and it was magic by its simplicity! The place is quiet, well taken care of and nicely decorated. The breakfast is more than decent and Rita, the managing lady took very good care of us. The only issue was the gardening staff who started to work on something next to our room very early so we couldn't enjoy the nice Sunday morning completely... Next time I guess...

Room Tip: Try to have a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I arrived at Golf Hills from Kigali Airport at about 2.30 am to find the manager, Antoinette, ready to check me in at the hotel reception. I asked her why she was up at such a crazy hour, and she said "I like to be here when my guests arrive." This epitomizes my stay; nothing was too much trouble for Antoinette or her staff. This result: a superbly managed, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable hotel.

Although expensive by, say, Southeast Asian standards, Golf Hills is a bargain in Rwanda, a fraction of the cost of staying at one of Kigali's better known upmarket hotels. You won't find a sewing kit or hair conditioner in your bathroom, but you will find a comfortable room in a quiet location, and just about the best service anywhere.

Disadvantages: A few kilometers from the city center, and not much within walking distance. But it's easy to get a taxi (car or motorcyle) to take you where you want to go.

Note: Rooms here don't have air conditioning, but that is simply because there is no need for it. Although close to the equator, Kigali is about 1, 600 meters above sea level, so doesn't get particularly hot, and it always cools down at night.

I give Golf Hills an enthusiastic 5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
2.6 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#1 of 37 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines by Kempinski
3.0 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#2 of 37 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#4 of 37 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 37 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.1 mi away
CityBlue Hotel, Embassy Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hills Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hills Residence

Address: Kigali B.P. 7177, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kigali
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golf Hills Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Golf Hills Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hills Residence Hotel Kigali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Hills Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.