We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay ... it is a home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Hills Residence

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Hills Residence
Save Saved
You added Golf Hills Residence to your Saves list
Kigali, Rwanda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Kigali
modesto california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay ... it is a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent four nights in this fine home away from home. The staff is fantastic. The food is great. The rooms are super. They do everything to try to please their guests. The hotel sits in a very nice part of Kigali. If you want to go anywhere, they always arrange a taxi for you. They even got me a driver to take me to the DRC. I have no agenda here. I just call them as I see them. For $80 a night, by far the best deal I found in Africa. Thanks again to all the staff for all their help. They really do care.

Room Tip: Room #19 was my room and it was wonderful
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    32
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Reasonably clean, reasonably comfortable. Huge rooms, huge bathrooms. Your basic, nice play to stay. It's got a nice view, and the food is pretty good. No complaints, really. The hotel manager is a lovely lady. Breakfast is pretty good too. Nothing fancy, but certainly really nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night enroute to Uganda. The lady at reception was great and let us have breakfast (free) while we waited for our room to be made up. Nothing fancy but large and clean. Would recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here in a single room for 2 weeks on business (with 2 more weeks to go), It is spotlessly clean throughout. Food and drink is reasonably priced and all of the staff are very friendly and attentive. The menu is restricted - for a long stay - but everything is cooked fresh when you order it. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality. Don't come here if you want a swimming pool and lots of activities, though there is a nightclub about 200 metres away. Free wifi and TV and fridge in room, though the prices are so reasonable that it really isn't worth bringing your own. Taxi to Kigali City Centre is 5,000 Francs (£5) about 15 minutes, and a visit to the Genocide Memorial museum (taxi 4,000 Francs) is a must. A safe and very peaceful haven, close to the City (a town really) ideal for a stop off point en route to visit the gorillas or other parts of Africa. 1 trip to or from airport included in deal. Laundry charges very reasonable. Personal attention from Antoinette, the manager who sorted all teething issues virtually immediately.

Room Tip: I have seen 3 of the rooms and would be happy with any of them. Big double beds, ensuite with baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel manager was wonderful, and really went out of her way to make me feel at home. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and is located outside the city center, so quiet and nice views from the terrace. The staff was also very nice. The room was clean and the food was good. I will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Top residence, at affordable price, personal approach of the staff, very helpful and friendly.
It feels like coming home.
Best choice in Kigali. The breakfast is best we had while we were in Rwanda. We can recommend this place to everybody who is going to stay in Kigali, you want regret.
Luc & Emma

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Please, consider this your home is what the manager said multiple times. And it did feel like a home away from home. Very relaxed atmosphere, clean rooms and very good daily fresh food.

They are willing to do just that little bit of extra for you that makes it a remarkable guesthouse.

I'm very pleased to have stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Hills Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hills Residence

Address: Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kigali
#2 Business Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Golf Hills Residence Hotel Kigali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Hills Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.