We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you can know whats called "Genocide"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nyamata Church

Nyamata Church
Kigali, Rwanda
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Kigali
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where you can know whats called "Genocide"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have visited this place in April 2013 and It have been a very powerful experience of how human being can change and become very ugly than cobra.... How can a human being take a baby of 2 years old and cut his head and eat his heart? How can somebody how trust in God can see people in a church and put fire on it?

For people how want to know how bad is racism, please visit this place...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stirring monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This church is a must for visitors to Kigali who have an interest in the past and the horrors that occurred during the genocide.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reflection in the Face of the Unimaginable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I live and work in Kigali so I try to keep the genocide at arms length, I prefer to look at the extraordinary future that Rwanda is building rather than those 100 days 20 years ago. However, when I do reflect on 94, it is Nyamata church that comes to mind, with that stark feeling coming in from the happy, sunny roads of Nyamata, then walking past the door blown off by a grenade into the holy feeling of a church that has had the walls carved by bullets and piles of bloody clothing piled high to every corner a testament to the machete hacked bones you will see outside in the catacombs.

I don't like that the events of 20 years ago have become a tourist attraction, that tourists think it proper to ask the ethnicity of Rwandese, with the ignominy of saying they saw a Tutsi, those poor sufferers, in the same breath that they mention seeing gorillas and lions. I think anyone with a sense of humanity can visit Nyamata and realize the terror of what happened 20 years ago, realize that there is legitimately no parallel in our own culture, the holocaust a poor parallel to the machete brutality of the genocide, and hopefully just have a moment of reflection in the face of the legitimately unimaginable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Directions and costs march 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

For those on a budget! Go to Kigali bus station and ask to go to nyatama town. Should cost around 600 francs When you get dropped off there after 45min you can either walk to the church. Walk out bus station and turn right onto main road and walk for about 1,5km looking for a old white and black sign on the right hand side of the road. Or rather negotiate with bikers. Don't forget you have amazing bargaining power at this point with 20 bikers wanting your cash so work it. I would suggest getting them to take you to nyamata church then ntarama(which is about 8km in opposite direction) and back to bus station. Anything around 2500 francs for this would be a good price. Good skills could get you away for 2000 for everything. Reason for my ratings: I just feel they could do so much more, such as tour guides and glass cabinets etc. this said it's an amazing place and should definitely be visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Humbling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I spent some extra days after a meeting visiting some of the most powerful sites of the genocide. Nyamata was intense. The staff were friendly and informative, but unlike in so many other tourist places, they leave you alone to experience the place on your own. You are free to ask for information or background as you wish.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyamata Church also viewed

 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Nyamata Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyamata Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.