We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Juliette Dodu

Save Saved
You added Le Juliette Dodu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Juliette Dodu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Rue Juliette Dodu, Saint-Denis 97400, Reunion Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Saint-Denis
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our honeymoon. Yes the rooms as small but I would say that they are on par with many European hotel rooms. We didn't see inside any other rooms so perhaps the rooms do come in different sizes.

As the other reviews have said the staff are very helpful and speak a variety of languages. The pool and spa are a nice touch and room safes and free wifi are always appreciated.

We were booked on a bed and breakfast rate only. When we enquiried about dining in the hotel restaurant for dinner we were told that they were booked out. Reception staff were quite happy to provide us with recommendations of where to eat nearby. We ended up eating with the locals down at the waterfront where there were a range of food vans set up.

There is limited parking available on site but street parking was available during our stay. Location is very convienent for exploring Saint-Denis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    66
    25
    7
    0
See reviews for
14
66
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

From previous reviews it appears this hotel is the best available in St Denis - if so then the others must be pretty bad! We had a pleasant stay for 4 nights - the hotel is nothing startling being of typical French style. I think the major problem is Reunion as a whole - in my view the island is not geared for or welcoming of tourists - it took over 1 hr to find the Office of Tourism - not easy to get into the centre of the island by local bus unless you have a car - perhaps Reunion is too dependent upon Paris that it feels it doesn't need a boost in its economy by tourism. Overall Reunion was a bit of a disappointment - Mauritius by far the best option for a holiday in this region.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
851 reviews 851 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
463 helpful votes 463 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Its a nice old building. The room I had was ok, and at least the reception smiled at my stuttering attempts at recalling school-boy French!

But it did the job for a night and I liked being up this end of town as it meant being 5 minutes walk from the esplanade to watch sunset yet only 5-odd minutes walk the other way to being in the centre of town.

Nice option, although in hindsight maybe I wouldn't have stayed in St Denis at all - there are other places you can stay that aren't too far from the airport.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curepipe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I only stayed there one night... and yes, I had a tiny room... but I guess I wasn't in there for long so it didn't matter. I like the setup of the hotel. I think for the price it isn't that bad and I like the style of it... sort of old-fashioned with lots of yellow overtones, which kind of makes it a warm place. I arrived in the middle of the night and the receptionist had no clue of nothing, cocked up the rooms my colleagues and I had booked... and didn't offer to carry the suitcases of either of the three women - including me - standing in front of him. His colleague the next day was much, much nicer and extremely helpful. So perhaps some more customer care training for the first guy is needed. Also, there MAY have been some bed bugs as I had strange little bites on me the next day. Breakfast was... breakfast. Nothing to sing about. If you need a taxi from them, make sure you do not get it from the big guy with an old Merck stationwagon... he's a terrible bloke, extremely rude and not helpful at all. He apparently does a lot of their transfers. Generally decent if you are not expecting much and just to wash, water, sleep and feed yourself.

Room Tip: Try and get a poolside room... I got one that looked out to a big industrial-type pipe vent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Old and creaky, some would say "quaint", with pocket-sized rooms. Poor room lighting. No lift. Very French. Buffet breakfast is so-so. Staff delightful and welcoming, which compensates somewhat for the bricks and mortar! Small but clean pool adjoins the lounge area - not much privacy there. If you get a cheap internet deal it's OK, but don't pay rack rate.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, have a look at the offerings before you sign in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is a real living museum. Public areas are beautiful, especially night time! BUT the rooms are so tiny that one cannot open fully the bathroom doors which touchs the bed when open halfway! I had never seen that in such a level (and costly) hotel!

Room Tip: Just ask for a LARGE room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a fairly basic hotel very handily near the city centre with a small pool. Room was clean but quite small. Staff were very friendly and helpful even giving us a free dinner because of a down grade in our room quality. The menu was limited but the food quite good. The room had very poor lighting for reading. Overall a pleasant hotel with no pretensions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Juliette Dodu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Juliette Dodu

Address: 31 Rue Juliette Dodu, Saint-Denis 97400, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Juliette Dodu 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Juliette Dodu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Juliette Dodu Hotel Saint-Denis
Le Juliette Dodu Saint Denis
Le Juliette Dodu Reunion Island/Saint-Denis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Juliette Dodu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.