We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Our new favorite in Abuja” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Rockets

Johnny Rockets
215 Konoko Crescent, off Adetokunbo Ademola Street, Wuse II, Abuja, Nigeria
+234 708 155 5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 51 Restaurants in Abuja
Price range: $6 - $53
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Johnny Rockets is an international restaurant chain, providing the food, fun, and friendliness reminiscent of feel-good Americana. Every Johnny Rockets restaurant boasts great tasting food from a menu of favorites, including juicy hamburgers, classic sandwiches, and hand-dipped shakes and malts. Guests also enjoy an all-American look and feel, tabletop jukeboxes, and authentic decor without forgetting the dance which is done every half an hour on average. The first Johnny Rockets opened on June 6, 1986, on Melrose Avenue in Los Angeles, California, founded on the belief that everyone deserves a place where they can escape from today's complicated world and experience the goodness of classic Americana. Since then, Johnny Rockets has been offering guests friendly service and great food in a fun and nostalgic atmosphere, and has expanded to more than 300 restaurants worldwide. Now our concept has opened its first of 5 locations in Nigeria and we are incredibly excited to be providing our food and service in this great country. Nigerians have long-craved a true American burger and traditional American fare, and with Johnny Rockets in Nigeria, they finally have it. So, come on in to Johnny Rockets and join us Where the good times roll! ™
Israel
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our new favorite in Abuja”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

So this is Abuja - not too many restaurant choices for foreigners. The opening of Johnny Rockets has certainly upgraded our family's "eat out day".
Service is very good, Food is always good (probably the only place in Nigeria where you can get cheese fries...). The burgers are juicy, milkshakes are yummy.
Design is cool, just like a 50's diner. Prices are somewhat high but no higher than other restaurants in Nigeria that cater to expatriates and upper crust locals.
Dancing waiters are always fun.
Only thing that needs some improvement is the ventilation system. You're likely to smell like the grill-man when you leave, especially if the place is full.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Poor service lets the whole experience down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The burgers are over priced and chips come seperate- which is a joke! The prices are too high for burgers served by people who don't have BASIC customer service skills. I ordered and in the middle of my order the lady just walked off???? This happened twice buy two different workers. The owners need to invest in training thirst staff if they want to succeed. We went once - never again !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namir S, General Manager of another branch at Johnny Rockets, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, please allow me to thank you for sharing your experience with us, as it is something we definitely looked into, and be sure that it is comments like yours that make us better.

I was personally part of the team who trained the staff, for 2 months prior to opening the restaurant in Abuja, and I can assure you that the Management of Johnny Rockets in Abuja have trained all the team members who are in the restaurant.

Finally, we find it somehow weird that you have absolutely no comments on Trip Advisor, except on our page, which makes us wonder if you really came to the restaurant, and actually had a bad experience. Our managers are always there, you could have easily complained to them, and I can guarantee to you that they would have attended to you.

In case you never visited our restaurant yet, we would advise you to come as it is a very enjoyable place, and in case you did and had an issue, we apologize and we will keep working hard everyday to ensure that it does not happen anymore.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Amazing environment, the manager is very friendly so are d staff. I also witnessed the dance performance, I was trilled. I ordered shakes, burger and fries and I loved it. Will definitely go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namir S, General Manager of another branch at Johnny Rockets, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to know that you had fun in our restaurant.

We hope to see you soon dancing with the team members,

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Milkshake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A taste of American standard - hamburger, fries, onion rings and milkshakes. New place in Abuja, gives you something different than the usual food found here. It has just opened in the past few months, so time will tell if it is going to stay open. Friendly and fast service(we went in before the evening crowd.) The staff does a little dance to the jukebox every hour(?).There is a 'sports bar' on the second level with several big screens TVs for soccer and drinks. A previous visitor has told me that the 'sports bar' can get pretty smokey. It was a nice evening out with friends and will likely go back once in a while. But, high cost of dinner will limit the number of times I go. There were several folks who had ordered ahead for take out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Rockets also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Rockets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Rockets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.