We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Good hotel, loads to do, great location too pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Transcorp Hilton Abuja to your Saves list
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Aguiyi Ironsi St | Maitama, Abuja 900001, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel, loads to do, great location too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Love this hotel, maybe because there's always loads to do, there's the pool that's always buzzing, the basketball courts, the restaurants, the club, it's like a little hub in abuja. I wouldn't go here for a getaway or a peaceful holiday, more for a city break type holiday. The service is decent and the rooms are clean and are a decent size, the pool is huge but if you want to sit down you need to get to it early. My only issue is the price! Relative to Nigerian pricing, nigerian inflation and the Nigerian currency this hotel has almost priced itself out of the market especially for what it is! I've stayed in nicer places, with better service and paid a lot less. Perhaps its because they don't have a lot of competition in the area but still this is definitely one of the more expensive Hilton's I've come across and this is from a Londoner!

Another irritating thing was the prostitutes about that were probably looking for business men or tourists with cash to spend. They approached our 15 year old little brother and it was a bit distressing, working with hoteliers I've come to learn that there's a certain understanding between hotel staff and prostitutes, but this is just unacceptable, propositioning a little boy, there's quite a few prostitutes about and something should be done to regulate that.

Would definitely stay again despite that though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and creating the time to leave a feedback about your experience.

I am glad to hear that you found our hotel a great place to stay and had an enjoyable experience during your stay with us. Your comments about our price is noted; we are actually very competitive with other international hotel brands in Nigeria. I would like to assure you that we are committed to giving value for money spent by our guests.

I apologise for any distress you might have experienced as a result of the incident involving your brother. Please be assured that we have zero tolerance to the presence of undesirable elements in our hotel and our security personnel are empowered to evict such elements from our premises if found.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    168
    120
    37
    20
See reviews for
16
15
20
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I had a nice stay at the Transcorp Hilton, Abuja. We would recommend it to any couple from any part of the world for a time of quality R and R. We used the pool and Restaurant facilities and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The cuisine is quite good and the staff and helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! I am so glad you and your wife enjoyed the comfort of our hotel and you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you back in our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The room is clean and welcoming. Great quality of service, very impressive. The meals are delicious but needs more variety. The atmosphere is a lot of business and social activities tend to be lower than expected for a weekend. Great place for a business trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am happy to hear you were impressed with the quality of our rooms, meals and service delivery from our team members. I am slo glad that you found our hotel a great place for business trips. We are currently looking at creating a weekend offer that would be a delight for our leisure guests.

We look forward welcoming you back to our hotel when you return Abuja soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you need safety, cleaness, comfort Transcorp Hotel is the choice for Abuja. My experience with this Hotel for any trip seems to be always a new one due to the quality of the service from the front desk and the valet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for staying with us at our hotel. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our Front Desk and Valet Team Members were helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was told that the Transcorp Hilton is sometimes jokingly referred to as "the Ministry of Meetings" for its common use for visiting business people getting together with government officials. Next year's World Economic Forum in Africa is (I'm being told) being held at the Transcorp.
Really?!
The front desk was friendly and really very, very helpful. That was the highlight.

The room was small, no view, but I don't really care about that.
Getting in and out takes like 5-10 minutes to get through the bomb searches.
The restaurants are aggressively bad. Cream sauces get a film on them. The flavor was just spicy but not particularly interesting, they all gave me heartburn.
Honestly, the melon and prosciutto from breakfast was still there at lunch and dinner.
No diet coke (coke light)... and even though the other restaurant had it, asking them to go upstairs (1 floor) to get one was very begrudgingly undertaken. Hey, when breakfast and lunch are like $45, you can find me a diet coke.

This place is EXPENSIVE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay experience at the Transcorp Hilton Abuja.

Whilst I am pleased to hear that our front desk Team Members delighted you with their friendliness and helpfulness, I am disappointed to hear that your overall restaurant experience was not satisfactory; I apologise for any inconveniences you might have experienced. Please be assured of my best efforts to address the highlighted service gaps with a view to improving our service delivery.

We sometimes have a challenge with the availability of diet coke and other coca cola products in the hotel because the bottlers are unable to supply the products to us constantly . In the meantime, we are offering diet pepsi as an alternative to our guests.

Once again, thanking for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staff excellent. Room old but very clean & comfortable. Security excellent. Ammenities, bar, restarunt very good. Breckfast too expensive by far. Internet shockingly expensive. All of my colleagues refused to purchase internet access.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I wanted to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to leave a feedback about your experience.

I am glad you enjoyed the security and comfort of our hotel. I am particularly delighted that our Team Members impressed you with their service attitude.

Your comment on our internet price is noted. We are currently upgrading our internet system to include wireless connection in the bedrooms. We are positive that the new system will give value for money and add value to the overall experience of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Hilton and stayed in a royal room which was quite spacious with a great big bed and fluffy pillows. The room was clean and had a really nice view which included the Unity "fountain". generally, service was really good, but they could be slow at times.

For security reasons, every car gets checked at the gate, and this creates a bit of a jam to get inside the hotel premises.

It's not a bad place to say, but I'm not sure it's particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholaAbuja, Public Relations Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hilton Abuja and for finding the time to leave a feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of our Royal Room and the stunning views of the city it offers. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location).

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Address: 1 Aguiyi Ironsi St | Maitama, Abuja 900001, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom.From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for Board Meetings, Press Conferences, Receptions or Private Dining Parties. The Mezzanine and Foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transcorp Hilton Abuja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.