We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“I expected better for the star rating that it is.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Transcorp Hilton Abuja to your Saves list
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Aguiyi Ironsi St | Maitama, Abuja 900001, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I expected better for the star rating that it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Within both of my business trips there, I had several problems with my room. The rooms on a whole were not up to par to the five star rating of this hotel. Broken panels, leaky roof that soaked the clothes and shoes in my closet, broken shower heads, and the list goes on. The food is just average and I expected more quality for the money I paid for the trip.
The only reason I would stay there again is the security.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for leaving a comment about our hotel.

Please accept my apologies for all inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We are committed to ensuring that every guest leaves our hotel feeling cared for, valued and respected.

Your experience with the shower head in your bathroom is regrettable; we recently commenced the upgrade of our bathrooms with the installation of new shower heads. All the other points highlighted about your room have been addressed with the maintenance team with a view to ensure a consistent quality service delivery.

Once again, thank you for your views and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Transcorp Hilton.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    168
    120
    37
    20
See reviews for
16
15
20
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Average room and amenities by Hilton standards, but overall value is not. Breakfast buffet is very expensive. Try the poolside dining for dinner- lamb over the coals was exceptional. Be sure to check out the local souvenir shops on the grounds just behind the hotel. Staff was friendly, but they were having problems with the computer system. Took me over an hour to check in after an all night flight. Took me almost as long even at the HHonors desk to check out. Worse staff was unapologetic. Seemed to be a training issue. To be fair, have not been elsewhere in Nigeria to compare. but have stayed at several nicer hotels in Africa at half the price. Internet is insanely expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. I apologise for all inconveniences you might have experienced while staying with us. Our desire is to always create a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

We could certainly have created a better experience for you at check-in and check out. Please be assured of my best efforts to address the issue of check-in and check-out experiences with a view to improving on our overall service delivery.

I am, however, delighted that you enjoyed our Steak Night at the Fulani Pool Restaurant. We offer different themed nights including Prawns Night and Pizza Night at the Fulani Pool Restaurant to cater for the diverse culinary preferences of our guests.

Once again thank you for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Transcorp Hilton on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

While this isn't the best Hilton I've ever stayed in (there is no wifi for instance), it is without doubt the center of business and social life in sleepy Abuja. It is central, close to ministries and business offices, everyone knows it and it has a plethora of restaurants, bars and cafes. none of them are particularly outstanding, but all are adequate. The gym is excellent. Note that you will pay Nigeria prices so if you aren't on an expense account or very rich, you should avoid.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. I am glad you had a satisfying experience during your stay with us.

The Transcorp Hilton has truly earned its reputation as the heart beat of the city of Abuja due to the wide range of quality facilities we offer and our commitment to quality service delivery. I am pleased that you enjoyed our gym which has been upgraded to the global Hilton Fitness by Precor standards.

Your comment about wi-fi is noted. Please note that we have always had wi-fi connectivity in all our public areas and meeting rooms. We are already looking into the possibility of extending wi-fi connectivity to the rooms in the very near future.

Thank you once again for your views and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

While in Abuja , Nigeria you starve for different types of business services.
This hotel provides them all at high level and almost always on time . Convenient location , large convenient well equipped rooms with internet available ( for fee ! ) everywhere.
If you are in Abuja - this is the place to stay and this is where you meet all the whos and whos of Nigeria .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your recent comments about our hotel. I am glad you were satisfied with our facilities and service delivery. We feel gratified only when a guest departs our hotel feeling cared for, valued and respected.

We are humbled by your positive comments and will continue to seek ways and means of exceeding your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Transcorp Hilton.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Have stayed here several times, most recently in July 2011 for 2 weeks. Rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. Service all round is generally good and staff are noticeably friendly. There is also a well appointed gym. The hotel is a magnet for the local elite and can be very busy in the public areas. The atmosphere is noisy and busy, exacerbated by the fact that the hotel has a shopping arcade on both the ground and mezzanine floors. The downside is that there is no access control to the guest floors - do not be surprised if you are accosted by a "fellow guest" in your corridor with offers of a "massage". My major gripe is that rooms are not well soundproofed, conversations between other guests in the corridor can be heard clearly. Moreover, avoid rooms with interleading doors. I was awakened one night by an argument between my neighbour and his "friend" over the price of her services. Other than that a good hotel with a high standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. As an international hotel of repute, we welcome comments, positive or negative, from our guests. It is through such comments that we are able to improve and deliver consistent quality service.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our bedroom with the signature Hilton Serenity Dreams beds and our gym which was recently upgraded to Hilton Fitness by Precor standards.

Your comments on access control to the guest floors are noted. Please be asured of our best efforts at safeguarding lives and property of our guests and team members. We will continue to review our access control procedures with a view to curtailing the presence of undesirable elements in the hotel

Once again, thank you for your views. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Avoid if possible. It is a very expensive hotel but the standards of service do not match the price.

Room Tip: Try to stay as high as possible, i.e. in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

We regret all inconveniences you might have experienced while staying with us. Our desire is to always create a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

It is true that our hotel is not a cheap hotel and we do not wish to be perceived as such. However, we are focussed on making sure that our guests get good value for money spent in the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we do wish you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I arrived at the hotel at 1 am to be told that my reservation had been "cancelled" and that no rooms were available. When the clerk realized that I was not born yesterday he summoned a manager. Fortunately, I was able to produce a confirmation number which allowed me to get a room. Security is lax - there are a great many extremely friendly non-guests going up and down the elevators, especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sholaAbuja, General Manager at Transcorp Hilton Abuja, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

We regret all inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Our desire is to always create a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.

Your comments on the way your reservation was handled and the presence of undesirable elements in the hotel are noted. I am addressing the issues with the concerned departments with a view to improving on our service delivery.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Transcorp Hilton Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hilton Abuja

Address: 1 Aguiyi Ironsi St | Maitama, Abuja 900001, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Transcorp Hilton Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Nigeria's capital city in close proximity to government offices, business and diplomatic districts, Transcorp Hilton offers 670 art-deco style rooms and suites for the comfort of discernible travellers. The spacious, bright and airy rooms are complete with original artwork and have large windows with stunning city views. Catch up with work at the desk, check your emails with high-speed internet (fees apply), recline on the mini chaise lounge or simply re-energise in the marble bathroom.From local Nigerian and continental cuisines to themed international buffets, Transcorp Hilton offers a delightful culinary experience with 4 restaurants and 4 bars. The hotel boasts a hi-tech, 1200-persons capacity Congress Hall and 24 meeting rooms. All benefit from natural daylight and individually controlled air conditioning, creating an ideal location for Board Meetings, Press Conferences, Receptions or Private Dining Parties. The Mezzanine and Foyer areas surrounding the Congress Hall enjoy natural daylight and provide an ideal location for registration, exhibition or display area, refreshment, breakfast or pre dinner cocktails. For the fitness enthusiast, the hotel boasts a well-equipped fitness center including saunas, a large hexagonal outdoor swimming pool and children's wading pool, 3 tennis courts, 3 squash courts, volleyball and basketball courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Transcorp Hilton Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transcorp Hilton Abuja Hotel Abuja
Hilton International Abuja
Hilton Abuja
Abuja Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transcorp Hilton Abuja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.