We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“be surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Abuja Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“be surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Okay it's only fair to say from the outset that this is a hotel which has seen better days and needs a serious makeover. However, as so often it's the staff who define the quality of a hotel and this is one with loads of personality - as in great people. Right from Tunde and Obama on the front desk to the excellent Ibrahim on the management side you will be well cared for .In fairness I did see someone pretty upset about something but that's hotels for you. My own view is that the food was fine, the staff were delightful and if I had time I would have loved to spend time in the pool. Maybe next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mark

Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. Please be assured that we will address the items mentioned by you. Know that you have made us very proud and specifically the staff you mentioned. It is so rare that people take the time to say thank you - you are a true officer and a gentleman.

I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Kind regards. Boris Bornman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    67
    69
    55
See reviews for
5
3
25
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Old, dirty and musty rooms that are overpriced. Light and bathroom fixtures were falling apart. First room had no working TV. Second room wasn't much better, Definitely not worth the USD$400+ a night paid. Extra charge for breakfast and room service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time.

Please be assured that we are addressing the items mentioned by you. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Kind regards.

Boris Bornman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were on a trip to Abuja as a delegation. Every experience was disappointing. The rooms were musty and smelt bad. I shifted to a club room by almost paying twice the rate. This was very average. The faucets were very old and the temperature could not be controlled. The air on was noisy and ineffective. I slept with the windows opened. The staff did not seem well trained and took time to even allot rooms. They give you the worst exchange rate. You can only pay in dollars and was a 6% adverse exchanger ate.
We selected this hotel because it was a Sheraton. Not worthy of being labelled one. Many better hotels in Abuja and more reasonable.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Sheraton needs to take care of their brand. This was the worst I have stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.

Boris Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kano
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed at Sheraton Abuja numerous times, on business trips. What I like about the hotel: location is good, easy access to most parts of Abuja city. It is in the 'five star' style, with several restaurants, hundreds of rooms, shops, a large swimming pool, business centre, etc. The food at its restaurants (particularly Papillon) is exceptionally good, serving continental and local dishes from across the country. Only on one occasion have I had cause to complain about one of the offerings at Papillon (during breakfast), which to my surprise the manager at the restaurant (can't recall his name... Henry?) remembered the next time I stayed, which was months later - he asked me whether the dish was now to my liking (which it was); I was surprised and impressed that he remembered.

I like the layout of the rooms, which has the wash basin in a separate sort-of dressing area. The rooms have looked the same since my first stay at the Sheraton in the late 1990s, up to my last stay 12th-14th.

Now for the things I do not like: Over the years, the rooms have become jaded and old. I have seen on two occasions a tiny roach on the room floor. Furniture/chair in room old and sometimes torn in places with the foam exposed (once when I complained I was given a better room). Some rooms have no safes. A colleague once had his laptop stolen from his room, so make sure you lock all valuables. Also, if you are unlucky, your room card key may keep malfunctioning as has happened to me on occasion. What I do not like the most: the bar area next to the reception plays loud music until late in the night, and the noise can be quite disturbing if you are trying to sleep. Other Sheratons I have stayed in (Kampala/Uganda and Lagos/Nigeria) were a better hotel experience.

For a long time Sheraton Abuja has been advertising a major refurbishment of the rooms, perhaps that has now been completed. If the rooms are being changed to what was shown in the computer generated models/photos, then it looks to be a major upgrade. I hope so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a safe (as not all their rooms do). Keep valuables locked in the safe. And b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The scheduled revamp is now a reality and will start early next year. Please do let me know when you here, would love to show you the mock-up room.

Please be assured that were possible we immediately addressed the items mentioned by you. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.

Boris Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is not the best hotel in the city but its ok for short stay. The swimming pool is big enough and in a quite place while the gym is very small and dirty. The food is generally good but expect to wait a long time before be served. The hotel has also a discotheque that become crowded from friday to sunday. The staff is generally friendly and polite.

Room Tip: I personally enjoyed the grill at Obudu restaurant. Rooms are generally noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurb, which will address all the issues mentioned by you.

I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future. Please do contact be when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards.


Boris Bornman

General Manager
t — +234.9.4612000 f — +234.9.4601511

SHERATON ABUJA HOTEL
1 Ladi Kwali Street, P.M.B 143, Maitama, Abuja, Nigeria
sheraton.com/Abuja Also on &
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the absolute worst Sheraton anywhere on the planet!

While some of the staff is helpful, I picked the check-in agent who took 30 minutes to input my credit card details, copy my passport, search for a key, etc etc I could not figure out what was taking him so long, while the other agents were checking in one person after the other.

The entire place is in a general state of disrepair and neglect. My room had a strong musty smell, the battery of the safe was empty, burned out lightbulbs in the bathroom. Some of my co-travelers changed rooms several times because the A/C was not working or dripping, etc.

The most interesting thing (for a Sheraton) is that the hotel is actually a thriving brothel. When entering the elevators, there is a register - I was not asked to put my name down, but at night I observed several (admittedly very attractive) ladies putting down their names. I assume this is to keep track of their fees back to the hotel. The Elephant bar is the showroom for the ladies, so not recommended when looking for a simple dinner.

Quite unbelievable that this hotel is permitted to carry the Sheraton brand!

Room Tip: Apparently there are refurbished rooms, but all I saw was that the tile floor had been replaced with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The banqueting staff was the most helpful and organised team during my stay at the Sheraton in Abuja. The conference went very well and all staff was always at hand to assist during our 5-day conference. I have stayed in a few Sheraton hotels before, even in Harare, Zimbabwe, so I was quite dissapointed in the state of the bedrooms... The lobby was clean and access to wi-fi was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boris6, General Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. It is truly helpful and I highly appreciated it, especially in today’s world where there is such a premium on time. The hotel is scheduled for a full refurbishment, which will address all the issues mentioned.

Please be assured that where possible we immediately addressed the concerns you have mentioned. My sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I do hope to have the privilege to see you return to the Sheraton Abuja, in the not too distant future, giving us an opportunity to remedy our failures. Please do contact me when you are in Abuja next.

Kind regards,


Boris Bornman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Abuja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.