We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Shabby, Noisy, Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Abuja Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Shabby, Noisy, Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

When on business trips I generally stick affordable but decent places to stay, mainly Best Western hotels. There is no Best Western hotel in Abuja, and the Hilton and Protea hotels are generally more than $300 per night. So for this trip I chose the Sheraton, notwithstanding the negative reviews. Unfortunately all of those negative reviews were right: It is clear that the rooms have not been revamped in the 20-odd years since the hotel was built. The fridge in the room could not close properly leaked water, and must have done so for months, because wood of the cabinet has rotten away. Worst of all was the deafining noise coming from the night club every night. The one plus point of theSheraton is the wide choice of food available, although rather expensive. Internet was expensive, about USD 20 per night. The gym was average, with only one of the running machines working

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    67
    69
    55
See reviews for
5
3
25
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

There are more negative reviews than positive on TripAdvisor and I was quite apprehensive when I booked this hotel for a short business trip to Abuja.

The first impression as you drive into the hotel compound is pleasant enough. Well maintained grounds and a huge imposing structure, more like a large office block office block and mall rather than a hotel. The hotel is built around a large central courtyard with corridors running around the centre, leading off to the rooms.

Checkin was fast and I was in my room within 10 mins of arriving at the hotel. A word of caution...the machines they use for swiping your Credit Card has major connectivity issues and quite often they don't work. The staff is aware of this and have an old fashioned mechanical swiping device at hand. That's ok if you have Credit Cards with raised lettering but a problem if you have the newer "electronic use only" Cards. I had to fish out an old Credit Card! That also means do budget atleast 15 mins for chekout...you never know how long it might take to settle your bill. But for all of that, the staff are friendly and eager to serve.

As long as you are in an upper floor...say 3rd floor and above, there's no problem with noise and sleep quality. Choose rooms with wooden parquet flooring, those seem to be nicer than the old fashioned mossaic/marble flooring. Rooms are big and the upper floor rooms have balconies. But even then, all rooms look rather tired...upholstery, flooring, furnishing etc. However, I had absolutely no problems with plumbing or water. or lights. Everything worked fine.

There's plenty to choose from when it comes to drinking and eating. Service is quick and quality is good but expensive. That is not exclusive to this hotel...at Nigeria all 4/5 star hotels charge excessively. The buffet breakfast is good with a huge spread. Room service is fast and reliable. The Casino is lively and heats up late in the evening. But air-conditioning in the public areas is bad. Comfortable early in the morning but gets uncomfortably warm as the day progresses.

There are a dozen odd free terminals for internet access at the ground floor lobby opposite the front desk. For accessing from rooms they charge Naiara 1000 (USD 7) per day. That's bad for a 4 star hotel. Should have come for free.

Safety and security is often an issue at Nigeria. Not at this hotel though. You never feel threatened and I have often hired taxis from the hotel. Simply asked the guard outside to get me one. None of the drivers have ever tried to cheat me.

Overall...this is certainly not Sheraton standard if you go by the condition of the rooms. But all other services and facilities are actually quite good.
The rooms

Room Tip: 3rd level and above rooms with wooden floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Difficult to belief Sheraton put their name to this hotel. Public areas are ok, but the the rooms are VERY tired. My first room had a broken toilet seat and the bidet was leaking all over the floor. I got a room change but the new one was not much better.
Both rooms I had were incredibly noisy due to the proximity of the main roads outside. Almost impossible to sleep.
45 minutes per day of free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodNigeria, Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear TonyBHampshireUK,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. The hotel is soon commencing renovations which will refresh and revitalize the property. We thank you for your patronage during this intermediary period and we look forward to welcoming you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The jaded Sheraton Abuja reminds me of Noah's Ark. It sits there Ark like surrounded by not much at all. Inside it is massive and hollowed out in the middle. At night it is dark so you can barely find your room let alone the slot for the key. The rooms are well worn and most of the lights work. Beware getting a room above the Elephant Bar (and beware the ladies in the bar) as it is noisy. A pool view is quietest being away from the road as well as the bar. For me the redeeming feature is breakfast with a bbq grill with bacon, steak and sausages to start the day of soundly. Room service works too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel needs refurbishing and better management.

First the plusses. The room was clean. The staff were very courteous and welcoming. There were enough restaurants to avoid total boredom. The environs were nice. It was clean and there were no bugs. The bathroom worked. I felt safe.

Now the problems. It was noisy at night. One colleague actually changed hotels. For the above reasons I stayed. It was somewhat shabby. The card key never worked, not once, the whole week I was there. I kept moving it around in my purse thinking I had kept it too close to a phone or computer. Actually my theory is that either the cards no longer keep a magnetic charge for more than one or two swipes/ more than two hours (they look very well used) or the machine that encodes them needs replacing.

From what I saw of another hotel: you can do far far worse. If you get a good rate here it is quite acceptable.

Room Tip: As far away from the nightclub as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I recently stayed for two weeks, and was very disappointed.

The main plus of the hotel is its size, and for a foreign visitor it has lots of amenities and conveniences for people without the time or inclination to travel around town. There is a selection of different restaurants, the food is good, and there are shops where you can buy toiletries, food, books, etc. The fitness center is ok.

The main downside is the rooms, which are old, poor quality, badly maintained. At check-in I was told the hotel has NO no-smoking rooms with internet connections! So I had to take a smoking room as I needed internet in my room. The carpet and chair were old, dirty and smelly. The rooms have no safes, despite these being advertised.
I had phoned to request pick-up from the airport, but noone was there to greet me. This happened to a colleague arriving a few days later also. So we were forced to take the less-safe option of getting a ride with an unknown "taxi" driver.
The internet in-room is expensive, $20 a day. They do offer 45 minutes a day of free internet using the hotel lobby computers - ok for browsing the news but not for securely accessing emails or financial information.

So don't be fooled by the 'Sheraton' name and think it meets global Sheraton standards. I encourage you to explore other Abuja hotels, I know I will next time.

Room Tip: At check-in ask for a room with hard-wood floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The new general manager is working hard to make this a hotel of international standard, and is succeeding. The food is the best I have had in Nigeria, certainly edible, the wine list by the glass is extensive and good, the hotel is full, the airlines use it, and although you are not so likely to rub shoulders with the President as at the Abuja Hilton, it is a thoroughly comfortable, pleasant place to stay. The gym works (three running machines, hurrah) and has good opening hours. The swimming pool is attractive, and the staff are committed. It is old and does need a lick of fresh paint, and a complete deluge can still make the bar roof leak,.but I guess they will get round to that. I've always liked this hotel, and it is improving. Well done!

Room Tip: Book long in advance and try to get a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Abuja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.