We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Very Poor Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rockview Hotel Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rockview Hotel Royale to your Saves list
Rockview Hotel Royale
Plot 196, Adetokunbo Ademola Crescent, Wuse II, Abuja, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Poor Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The only thing going for this hotel is its location in Abuja. It is close to the CBD and has easy access to most of the city.

Other than the above, the hotel is just a little worse than staying at a hostel. Rooms are big but with very poor finishing and facilities. Very few TV channels, sleeping on the bed is like sleeping on a rock, the shower is a real joke cause it just trickles, carpets and threadbare. Food is just average and not much options. Breakfast is always a joke.

There are better and cheaper hotels in Abuja. Just avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything is poor quality yet the price is high. Suggest you avoid at all costs. The IT systems that support a hotel just do not work here and the result is chaos. Give yourself lots of time for check in and out and be prepared for max frustration as the folks in front of you demonstrate complete ineptitude.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had to stay overnight in Abuja as I missed an evening flight out. This hotel was recommended by a family member. Its location is fairly central, so it's about 45mins drive from the airport.

Paid ₦31,500 for a double room. Not quite sure what they call it, but I think it was the "deluxe room". Despite being the only one checking in, the process took almost 40mins: the person who checked me in spent half that time answering his mobile phone. Major credit/debit cards can be used for payment, which is a plus. You have to leave a refundable deposit on check in.

Hallways smelt of cigarette smoke. I mentioned this to the porter escorting me to the room and he said they get loads of complaints about that. The room size was decent, furnishings were adequate -but disappointing considering how much paid. Air conditioner unit had no control, just on/off; TV was a 14" CRT.

Room didn't smell bad, but it definitely had a not-pleasant smell. It also wasn't cleaned thoroughly, as I found some nail clippings sticking out from under the bed in the morning. Bathroom was clean enough and of fair size.

The restaurant was the only redeeming aspect of my stay here. I stayed on a Thursday night, during which they had a "Chinese" buffet. It's probably ambitious referring to what was on offer as "Chinese" food, but I liked it well enough. This was served in combination with Nigerian dishes.

The fish peppersoup and their "Afang" soup (with "eba") were really good. Less ambitious patrons could try the rice (not the "Chinese" fried rice -that had too much soy sauce) and meat stew, which were also decent. Ultimately, it was a buffet so you may try whatever you please. Wait staff were very courteous.

The bed (as mentioned in other reviews) was rock hard. Didn't affect my sleep however.

I checked out early (before 5:30am), and the same bloke checked me out. This time, it only took 15mins.

In all, not a bad experience. Considering how much it cost however, I think the hotel is very sub-par by international standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Ok, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The price is good, location is fantastic and they have one of the best hotel food in Abuja. Their rooms are big and clean, the hotel lobby is very receptive, the staff very friendly and helpful. If you enjoy life band music, this is definitely your joint.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I traveled here on a business trip, I spent the worst two weeks of my life in this hotel, beds like the floor (hard), rooms smell, bathroom taps leak, shower is like a dripping tap, it's dirty and do not eat any food unless you want to be ill and poor, buffet is disgusting and breakfast is not much better, I was ill for days and ended up living on cornflakes from the shop. I know it's not the richest country in the world but my god the standards in this hotel are less than 3rd world. The aircon unit is like a plane taking off and the TV is old and only has a few channels that are not worth watching, power cuts are common and no backup generator so pitch black, wifi is rubbish and costs £7 a day cannot use skype as not enough bandwidth. Please for your sake stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Food at the pool side bar was fine and plenty of choice for football!!
The room was not the best, Bathroom was very spacious but didn't seem clean enough.
Again the bed was very spacious but hard as a rock. WiFi was not complementary and was made to pay 1000.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is perhaps the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. No redeeming features whatsoever. Terrible food, rooms even worse, avoid at all costs. I only gave this one star because there's no option for 0 stars.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockview Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Hotel Royale

Address: Plot 196, Adetokunbo Ademola Crescent, Wuse II, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Rockview Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockview Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.