We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Uke Street | Garki II, Abuja, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
Belmont, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I enjoyed my short stay at this hotel. Had regularly stayed at another similarly priced hotel but decided to try this one for a change--glad that I did. Liked the size of the room, its decor, and the quality of the bathroom the best. I found the staff to be very courteous and helpful and I liked the complimentary breakfast as well. I will be staying at this hotel when next I'm in Abuja--hopefully they will keep the rates reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for giving us a try after your several stays in another hotel in Abuja. We are particularly pleased that you liked our spacious suites, the quality of our bathrooms and our complimentary breakfast buffet. These features amongst others like kitchenettes in every room and free internet access are some of the ways we add value to our very reasonable room rates.

Now that you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you back again and again on your future trips to Abuja.

Yours sincerely,
Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
2
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Rooms are okay and very standard. Service very good with courteous staff. Good food but there is need to improve on the Nigerian food content

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warri, Nigeria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I have stayed severally with family, friends and solo. I keep coming back because of the excellent staff, who are always willing to make you feel at home, the kitchenette and the sizes of the rooms. There is a noticeable service improvement on every visit.
I do not like the wardrobe in the bathroom. Generally, it is a thumb up.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are glad to know that you have experienced consistently good service during your various stays with us and we will continue to live up to that expectation. We have noted your comments about the location of wardrobes in the bathroom and are pleased to inform you that we have several rooms where the wardrobes are in the bedroom area; we will be glad to honour your request for one of those rooms during your next stay.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja.

Yours sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Harcourt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The exterior of the building is not attractive, a little modification can be done especially at the entrance. The rooms are good and of good standard but the price is high, a little adjustment to the price will make it more attrractive.
I stayed for four nights, i enjoy my stay but there is need to improve the meal and add variety. the lunch and dinner is thesame item for the four nights.
There is need for computer and internet in the rooms. the business center is not fully equiped. No printer, no scanner and the internet is too slow, I was frustrated.
You can add a little live performance by the pool side on fridays for (Thank God is Friday) as no activitiy in the hotel, it makes it too dry for a young man.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay in our hotel. We appreciate your various comments. On our pricing, we go to great lengths to make sure that our room rates are competitive and are great value for the money; this is why we continue to find ways to provide complimentary breakfast buffet that offers good variety in addition to providing other amenities like spacious suites with kitchenettes and free internet access.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you encountered in our business centre due to the breakdown of our printer/scanner. It was repaired the very next day and we have now added a second printer/scanner to mitigate such downtime in the future. We are currently evaluating the option of adjusting our internet bandwidth to make it adequate for periods of high occupancy as we witnessed a couple of weeks ago. Your observations about the lunch and dinner food variety as well as your suggestions for poolside entertainment are noted for action.

We are glad to know that your overall experience in our hotel was positive; we hope to see you again on your next visit to Abuja.

Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Nice location and easily accessible. Its closeness to a mega store (Sahad Stores) is an added advantage. You can get your toiletries and refreshment at anytime. I wonder why liquor is not available at the bar. Management may have to review this in order not to give away a few of your guest that may require such items.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you liked the location and accessibility of our hotel. We appreciate your observation and suggestion on the non-availability of liquor in our hotel. Our hotel, like all Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham around the world, emphasizes value for the money by providing clean spacious suites with homely feel, free internet access and complimentary breakfast buffet with a wide variety of items for all guests. Bars serving alcohol are not part of our brand concept but our guests are free to bring their own liquor, as many of them do and they actually find it more economical to do so. Others visit many of the bars within close proximity of our hotel.

We look forward to your return and assure you that we will continue to keep our spacious suites neat and refreshed for you.

Sincerely,
Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

After having stayed in well known intl. hotels in Abuja, Hawthorn Suites is actually pretty ok. Although still not cheap, comparing value for money leaves a positive resume. Liked the excellent breakfast and - facing the court yard - enjoyed the quietness. Staff could be a little more attentive and 'motivated'. But we all have our moods depending on the day, don't we? Cheers, Michael

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool - street views are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Free breakfast for all guests is a key attribute of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham brand. We agree that breakfast really is the most important meal of the day – this fact drives our continued commitment to keep finding ways to provide complimentary breakfast buffet that offers good variety. This and other amenities like spacious suites with kitchenettes and free internet access are some of the ways we add value to our very competitive room rates.

Your observation about the attentiveness and motivation of our staff is noted; we will continue to improve in this very important aspect. We are glad that you appreciate the quietness and privacy our hotel offers and hope you will continue to make us your hotel of choice in Abuja.

Yours Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights. Thay give a 50% discount for weekend rates...otherwise it is ridculously expensive for what is on offer. Even with the discount, the smallest room is about $150 a night.

Cons: The building is poorly built. The woodwork, painting and finishing is of low quality especially in the hallways and other communal areas. The safety latch on my suite door was broken so I had to lock the bedroom door when I went to sleep. Staff courtesy is hit or miss...some are very polite and others are flippant and almost rude. I was a solo female guest and I often felt uncomfortable with the lack of courteousness.

Pros: The buffet breakfast offers a good variety. The bed was averagely comfortable (a little lumpy and uneven). The microwave in the room came in very handy and I liked the open plan nature of the living area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthornabuja, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. Knowing that our guests expect and deserve the best value for their money, we adopt a pricing strategy that incorporates careful attention to service delivery as well as the provision of value-added amenities like free unlimited internet access and complimentary breakfast buffet that offers a good variety as you kindly pointed out.

Our sincere apologies for the lapses you experienced. The paint patchwork you noticed was a result of a recent repair to the wall and was in the process of being repainted. We are grateful that you care enough to let us know where we need to improve and we shall take your feedback and act on it.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Abuja.

Yours Sincerely,

Kayode Aina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja

Address: 1 Uke Street | Garki II, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent full service extended stay hotel in the heart of Abuja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.