We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“NOG 14” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Apo Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Apo Apartments to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Apo Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Ahmadu Bello Way | Opp. the Legislative Quarters, Abuja, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Abuja
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“NOG 14”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I returned after staying here year before. The staff and management are great ! The Wi Fi still bad and erratic. Knowing the GM helps as the room and room cleaning was not the best, but all comments were quickly sorted out. The breakfasts good and the kitchen food good. Nigerian Expensive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

It is more like a chalet style hotel, the rooms are somehow renovated, wih bad wifi connections, was informed over 2 days that the people are working on it to boost it, but did not notice the difference, somehow clean, breakfast is average, you can order from the kitchen omellettes, staff are rather nice, compared to other hotels in Abuja, this is a decent option but for a short stay,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very comfy hotel. Set in a place away from the crowd but still close enough to the centre of town. Nice well appointed rooms. Beautiful and clean environment. Nice staff and attention to detail by staff. Apo is one of three Protea Hotels in Abuja but its the only one with a choice of apartments. The food is not bad as well, but I only ate breakfast at the hotel. I strongly recommend this hotel for business, family and solo travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A good and decent hotel in Abuja. You won't be "in the spot", but reasonably near business areas, in a relaxed and comfortable environment. Rooms are good, not luxurious but spacious, clean, equipped. Would recommend as an option in a city where you won't find a vast array of hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for the new pavilions, quite near the Front Desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed at Protea Apo, I typical Protea fashion, I was made welcome by the staff greeted by name and made to feel generally comfortable. Power problems abounded, but then this is Nigeria.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Logistics were a little unrealizable and not reliable, but management promised to look into it. Wireless was erratic and slow.

Room Tip: Ask, and make sure your room has wireless connectivity. Do not rely on " all the rooms have wir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed here for few nights in October 2010 when they were in the process of renovating the hotel. When I stayed they had only 2 bedroom apartments or studios available. The 1 bedroom apartments had not yet been renovated. The 2 bedroom was too much money for me, a single business traveller, so I chose a studio.

The studio was very clean, well appointed, with a very comfortable bed and a very nice kitchen. But I found it too small for extended stays. There was no couch or sitting area. Just the bed, a desk, and the kitchen.

The hotel is not within walking distance of any amenities and is quite isolated, requiring a taxi to go anywhere. In addition, when I was there, I had been told the air conditioning in the gym would be repaired right away. After 4-5 days it still was not fixed (that is Nigeria for you) and I could not use the gym.

Between the isolation of the location, the inability to use the gym, and the smallness of the room, I could not stand staring at the 4 walls any longer and I moved to another hotel.

That was over a year ago, perhaps now, if the gym is renovated with working A/C and the one bedroom apartments are renovated, I would stay there again. If not, it would be suitable only for very short stays for the single traveller.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is my first stay at this hotel and I was generally happy about the room, its ambience, cleanliness and the 32" Samsung LCD. The bathroom was fine, the sink was nice, but that's about it. There were no shower curtains, so the bathroom would be flooded after a bath, the toilet seat is slanted to the side for some reason, there is no electric shaver socket and there was no lighting for the mirror for when you shave.
The bed was good, but I coudnt really sleep in it. I'm not sure if it's the noice outside, the mosquitos in the room or if it's just because I'm used to AC. There was AC in the room which can make it too cold. Even at the low fan setting and 20C it still felt annoyingly cold so I decided to sleep without it. The room walls seem very thin so I heard my neighbor talk on his phone, cough and flush the toilet. Exciting stuff!
I only tried one meal in the restaurant, some sort of fish which was edible, but nothing I would be craving for later on.
The premises was safe with barbed wire all around the perimeter similar to all properties in Abuja. The room had a safe where you can store your valuables in it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Apo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Apo Apartments

Address: 2 Ahmadu Bello Way | Opp. the Legislative Quarters, Abuja, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Apo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Abuja, Protea Hotel Apo Apartments offers 46 fully serviced deluxe apartments, elegantly furnished and spacious. Situated in a quiet and secure neighbourhood, travelers to Abuja will be ensured of a pleasant and relaxed stay whether for a night or two or utilizing our special monthly or annual rates. With a variety of attractions in the area, bring the family and treat them to a visit to Wonderland Amusement park where your whole family will be entertained! Facilities include water splash rides, roller coaster rides, bumper cars and much more. And if that’s not enough, the hotel boasts a restaurant, swimming pool, barbeque area and a rooftop bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel Apo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Apo Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.