We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Beer House

Joe's Beer House
160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek, Namibia
+264-61-23-24-57
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Windhoek
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: African, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Great atmosphere
Great food - esp. the game
Great service
Would definitely recommend to anyone passing through Windhoek with an evening spare.Booking recommended as it's extremely popular!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    462
    163
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Joe's got everything a meat-lover can hope for: I really recommend to try the bushman sosatie as it provides you with the possibility to try out 5 different steaks (oryx, ostrich, zebra, kudu & crocodile).
The atmosphere is also great - you feel like you are sitting in the middle of a German beergarten. The prices are reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Meal with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

WOW what an amazing place. Everytime I go to Namibia I make sure I go to Joes Beerhouse at least once that week. The food is fantastic, the ambiance is something you have never experienced before. There are so many things to see and the bonfires are amazing in the boma area. The people are friendly and it is definitely worth the visit EVERY TIME! Cannot wait to go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I had a great, vegetarian meal here, which is something I worried about when coming to Namibia. I had butternut squash with roasted veggies and gouda cheese melted on top. They had great selections of wine and amazing deserts, I recommend the Prickly Pear Parfait. If you are going during the winter request a seat near the heating lamps.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for Visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Decided to walk to Joe's from nearby Olive Grove Guest House. It was a chilly night but the fire was warm, the beer was excellent and the food was very good. The springbok kabobs and Oryx schnitzel were delicious. When we were in Windhoek again, before flying out, we went back! Decided a last meal of excellent game was in order. Again, the beer was good and the food was tasty. I could easily say the service might not be the fastest but hey, we weren't in a hurry.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Beer House also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Beer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Beer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.