We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but felt rushed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Beer House

Joe's Beer House
160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek, Namibia
+264-61-23-24-57
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Windhoek
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: African, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place, but felt rushed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place was highly recommended so we had high hopes. Although we had booked the day before, we had to share a table, but decided to stay. We shared a starter, a bottle of wine and had the fish skewers and a kudu steak for our mains. The steak was well done, though I asked for medium, which was a pity as the rest was good.

Interesting decor, all with a story to tell but to be honest, we felt really rushed. Starter arrived 5 minutes after ordering and mains followed immediately, with no break. We were in and out in an hour - could have been something to do with the queue at the door, but I wouldn't go back as a couple, though I'm sure it is great if you have a big table of friends or family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    400
    145
    37
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Legendary Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is full of amazing antiquities and will have you casting your mind back to a bygone era.
Ask about the story regarding the Mini perched above the restaurant entrance and how it came to be there, you are assured a fantastic story pulsing with adventure.
It has to be the best eatery in Windhoek

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Joe's is reliable, funky and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to Joe's with a fairly large group, 16, on safari in Namibia.
Immediately when you enter Joe's, you feel you're in another world. From the outside it almost looks like a compound. It's a large one story building, tall wooden entrance doors open to reveal a walkway. As you follow the walkway and your eyes adjust to the low lights, you enter a sort of indoor/outdoor beer garden covered with a thatched roof. Tables are scattered here and there, there's a large bar, and an inside dining room for cooler weather.
The unique thing about Joe's is the decor--a varied collection of "stuff" hangs from the ceilings, on the walls, in every nook and cranny. A collection of Jagermeister bottles lines several shelves.
On to the food--steaks & burgers, (including game) fish were good. Since our group was large, we got to sample quite a few things on the menu. And, we went two nights in a row.
Joe's is reliable, with a very eclectic atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You just have to do Joe's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was sceptical about Joe's when reading reviews prior to our visit. Well it turned out to be unneccesary.

There is a vibe inside this place that is unbelievable and the decor makes it even more attractive. We enjoyed the idea of meeting new people, as we were only two people and were seated with another couple from South Africa.

The food was very good, we discovered a nive new white wine from the Cape and we had a blast talking to our table mates. We ended up spending three hours there, but we never even realised it. Best restaurant experience of the whole trip!

In my TR I have Joe's 9/10, purely because the service was a bit slow and we had to call our waiter whenever we needed him.

We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great outdoor restaurant with multiple bars and dining areas. Fun menu with plenty of game options. Notice at the door that "Jagermiester is the house wine" sets the tone!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Beer House also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Beer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Beer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.