We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it's fun ... but ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Beer House

Joe's Beer House
160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek, Namibia
+264-61-23-24-57
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Windhoek
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: African, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yes it's fun ... but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

OK, it's famous, fun and funky ... but the food is average to mediocre and the service can be a bit hit and miss.
We went there twice on a recent Namibia trip - loads of tour groups traipsing in and out, a real polyglot of languages being spoken and more cameras than you could shake an angry stick at.
Maybe twice was one visit too many.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    399
    145
    37
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geochang-gun, South Korea
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unusual decor with great food and a fun vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had dinner here in September 2012. On entering Joe's you just want to wander around and look at the decor - its really unusual and really lends to the atmosphere of the place. I recommend going to have a look, even if you dont stay for a meal or a drink. The food was really lovely and they have a good vegetarian selection. I particularly enjoyed the walnut chocolate mousse. The vibe is really cosmopolitan and fun - my experience was enhanced by sharing a table with some strangers and a great waitress.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Touristy but solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It must be the rare tourist to Namibia who doesn't have at least one meal at Joe's. Although you're certain to have several types of game served to you as you travel around the country, Joe's is "game-central" and offers the opportunity to try any you may have missed. The variety is impressive, the serving sizes generous. In general they treat the game preparations well, but several did tend to the dry-leathery side -- which is really tricky to avoid with such lean meats. Also didn't understand why we couldn't order mixed drinks at the table when we were 15 feet from a fully stocked (and crowded) bar. But the place is lively (mostly with tourists or ex-pats) and the decor is wild african-bizarre. Definitely worth checking out, but perhaps not a return destination.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth eating at for the spectacle and experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

As a tourist I enjoyed the spectacle and experience of eating and Joe's Beer House. Walk around the restaurant - it is very large and has different dining areas and the open bbq cooking areas are interesting to see, as well as the memorabilia. I tried the three different game meat dish and I am really pleased I did. The service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommended by many...............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Not bad, but after all the recommendations I got from local taxi drivers and tourists it was nothing special as far as food and atmosphere was concerned. Have been there now but haven't put it on my list to return to when back in Windhoek.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Beer House also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Beer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Beer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.