We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Terra Africa

Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Terra Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Terra Africa
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Kenneth McArthur Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Terra Africa Some five times now. This is our start and end point when we visit Windhoek with the family. The accommodation is very central and the staff are wonderful. With a nice small garden it is the spot to sit and have breakfast or just relax and hang and talk about Namibia.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
42
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our roundtrip through Nambia. It is a good location to start your trip. Nice rooms in a garden with a pool. Wifi, but rather slow.Save place to park your car. Good breakfast. The owners are glad to make reservations for diner and ordering a safe cab. Great superspar supermarket nearby to buy supplies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The flight from Franfurt had a 12 hour delay leading to a very short stay at the guest-house. We arrived at midnight without having diner. The host helped us greatly with hot coco and cookies for the kids. Nice rooms and good beds. The breakfast was good. The biggest regret our kids had was that they did not dive into the swimming pool. It was the only heated pool we have encountered during our complete trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertGlobeTrotters, Family Member Owner at Guesthouse Terra Africa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and response.
As a family and family-business we pride ourselves at always trying to give the best we can to our guests that choose our Terra Africa House above the rest!
We look forward to welcoming you again in our Family Home.

Kind regards,

Rolf Hansen
on behalf of the Hansen-Locher Family and the Terra Africa Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

In safe and nice reidential area, we had a nice first rest stop after long overnight flight. Arrived early morning from airport and were served extra breakfast at an extra cost (normal) and were seated in lounge until room ready, which was rather quick as most guests depart early. Nice breakfast and lounge area, pretty garden and pool area. Good free wifi also in room. Spacious enough room with basic ok bathroom. Breakfast itself was also pretty basic with eggs to order and cereals etc. hosts professional and friendly. 5-10 min drive to many restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed the service. The hosts were extremely nice. The rooms are big and spacious with a television. The wifi signal is really good unlike most lodges in Africa. The breakfast service was very good and attentive.

The main gate is remote operated so it saves you the work for opening an additional lock while parking your car coming in/out.

Overall we really liked this sweet , homely and nicely decorated place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently visited Namibia on business and stayed at the homely Guesthouse Terra Africa which definitely left a mark on me and I will definitely return myself for a holiday!

Terra Africa Guesthouse in Windhoek is situated in the southern valleys of the city centre and is the first establishment in Namibia to operate as an art gallery as well as an accommodation. The rooms are all elegantly designed with different themes to suit all tastes.
The room mod-cons include flat screen TV’s, air conditioning, mini bar, hair dryer, as well as the simple touch of sample cosmetics in the bathrooms! This lodge really has focused on the clients comforts. The rooms are surrounded by absolutely stunning gardens with a pristine pool which unfortunately I did not have time to sample but very much needed on a hot day in Windhoek!
All staff I encountered were super friendly and efficient and my breakfast was made to order within moments. The breakfast buffet is suited to all tastes with a typical ‘European’ spread as well as the traditional cooked breakfast options. The guesthouse is adorned with beautiful pieces of art and high quality luxurious materials making all areas comfortable and inviting.

I can safely say i recommend Terra Africa and I will definitely be staying there when i go back on holiday

- Elizabeth Shaw (Product Manager, Jenman Safaris)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here on two occassions at the beginning and end of our trip through Namibia. We found the owner and staff to be very helpful and hospitable. The guesthouse itself is basic and like staying in grandma's house really. Rooms homely but a bit cramped; breakfast adequate but not flash. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a more upmarket, modern experience, then this is not for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guesthouse Terra Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Terra Africa

Address: 6 Kenneth McArthur Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Terra Africa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hansen & Locher family welcome you to the Terra Africa House. We hope you will relax before or after a trip through our magical Namibia - OR for the business person, a home away from home! Guesthouse Terra Africa has welcomed guests for over a decade to Windhoek and we look forward to seeing you at the Terra Africa House too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Guesthouse Terra Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Terra Africa Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Terra Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.