We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vondelhof Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondelhof Guesthouse
Save
You added Vondelhof Guesthouse to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Puccini Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 78 Windhoek B&B and Inns
1 review
“Its ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The pool area sets the tone for a relaxing stay. It feels as if I was staying in guest room at a friends place. Enjoy the patio thats part of my room. Staff are all friendly. Must say that the breakfast was nice the first few day but afterward is totally boring. Close to all amenities which is plus.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Well, for a late arrival/early next morning departure, this place was just adequate. We were hoping for dinner, a good nights sleep, a shower and to be safe and secure. Staff here were pleasant and reasonably helpful, though they seemed tired, along with the whole place. They weren't trying to make our stay memorable or remarkable.

As we moved into our hot room on the top floor (I had missed the fact that it was not air conditioned), the attendee opened up the balcony door to let fresh air in (and all of the mosquitoes) and then showed us around the room. Two single pine beds on a concrete floor, a side table between them, ill fitting mosquito nets and opposite that, built-in robes, fridge and TV. It really looked like the childs bedroom of a poor family. We shrugged, it was only for one night, and went out to the recommended restaurant, NICE, just up the road where we were ate very nice meals with great service.

Back at the hotel, we made the best of our room by lighting our own mosquito coil, making sure that the ceiling fan was on its best setting and lowering the mosquito nets over the beds. The mosquito nets hang from the wrong spot on the roof and they don't cover the bed. In a hot climate, I am only cool enough to sleep without covers, so I had to keep my hot feet under the sheets to prevent being bitten as the netting could only adequately cover the top half of the bed and I had to pull my bed 2 feet away from the wall to allow that. The aged and worn mattress, pillow and sheets did not contribute to a good nights sleep either. Shame, with a bit of TLC, this place could be much better.

Breakfast and breakfast room was fine.

Oh, the one foot high by three foot long mirror in the bathroom wall was about a foot too high on the wall for me, so only people of a certain height would be able to shave, comb their hair etc. Not me :-(

Room Tip: If cheaper, would be great for backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

The guesthouse is nice, room was very clean, they have a pool, internet cost 2,50 EUR for 24h. Breakfast was basic but totally ok. The 哲ICErestaurant (ask at guesthouse) has excellent food, prices range from 6 EUR to 20 EUR. I ate a starter plate for 8 EUR and that was plenty of food. Can also recommend the Oryx steak. Staff at guesthouse were very friendly and helpful. We had problems with our car rental and they called several times for us (they charged this on the room, but that was only 2 EUR in the end for lots of calls, so no big deal). In the morning it gets quite loud, as there's a busy street not too far.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The Vondelhof Guesthouse was a pleasant surprise. It started out well with my and my son's online booking, with each enquiry answered promptly. Our experience with Vondelhof Guesthouse became even better upon arrival. The lady on duty was very helpful and remained so for the duration of our stay. We found the rest of the staff also very friendly. The pool area is great and the water sparkling clean throughout the entire stay. The two dogs on the property were well-behaved. The room was pleasantly furnished and allowed for maximum natural light to flood in. The location is central, allowing easy access to shops, restaurants, cultural events, etc. We liked the area around the pool the best, that is lots of leafy shade and interesting woodcarvings; the patio as part of our room was also a nice surprise. The breakfast was the most boring aspect of our stay, but we knew upon booking that only a 'continental' breakfast would be available. The fresh melon was good though. The reviews prior to 2010 had us worried about what to expect, and I can only assume that Vondelhof had a revamp recently, because only the 2010 reviews reflect what we experienced during our own stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We had a very nice overnight stay here while we organised our car hire and stocked up on food and fuel. Very pleasant hotel and the lady was very helpful in advising us on the best place to stock up. Car hire company, banks and supermarkets all close by. Ideal and easy to find. Also very close - within walking distance of the NICE restaurant - which was the best place we dined at in Namibia. will use this hotel again for our first night in the country.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Vondelhof and experienced none of the problems mentioned in previous reviews. We had the upstairs room at the front of the house and it was very clean and quiet. After staying in a number or air conditioned "boxes" it was such a relief to be able to open the windows and have the ceiling fan going. Our bathroom had a shower and separate bathtub and the bedroom was spacious and filled with natural light.
The pool was sparkling clean and we spent a few hours sitting in the comfortable outdoor area using our wireless internet. The dog and cat were friendly, quiet and affectionate.
The owner was very pleasant and was a good source of information regarding restaurants and sightseeing options. All staff were also very pleasant.
Some reviews have mentioned the lack of cooked items for breakfast - this did not bother us. We spent six weeks in Namibia and South Africa and were somewhat relieved to NOT be tempted with a cooked breakfast. There was ample food and drink as well as a good supply of fresh fruit.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Vondelhof.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

What a horrible stay we had at this guesthouse! We travelled through Namibia for a while and stayed in several guesthouses (at the same price levels), but nowhere did we have such an unpleasant stay.

During our stay the pool was a dark green, it looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. The girls in the office (the ones that look like the fact that they work there is a horrible punishment) told us that the pool would be cleaned "today". They said that both mornings. On day three still nothing had been done. A family with children arrived that day - they booked this guesthouse because of the beautiful pool in the pictures - you can imagine the dissapointment when they saw the disgusting state the pool was in.

The rooms were ok, but we had to sleep with the windows open to keep the temperature down, as the ceiling fan turned at 5 RPM and didn't cool the room down at all. This meant that we were constantly waking up because of all the traffic on the road behind, as well as dogs, aircraft etc etc.

The breakfast is the worst we have seen in Namibian guesthouses. We had to go to reception both mornings to ask for more coffee/fruit/bread as they had run out and there is not really anyone around to help. Don't expect eggs or bacon either, dry bread and canned fruit will have to do at Vondelhof.

As mentioned before, the minibar is ridiculously overpriced. We, too, were charged for "telephone charges" when the owner offered to call us a taxi. Customer service is obviously not part of their business plan!!!

I would NEVER come back to this guesthouse - don't make the same mistake we did and fall for the pretty pictures!! It doesn't look anything like that in real life.

AWFUL!!

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Rooms, pool, food, SERVICE.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vondelhof Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondelhof Guesthouse

Address: 2 Puccini Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vondelhof Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vondelhof is a small and informal retreat where host Yvonne and her staff will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Vondelhof is located in a quiet street at the edge of Windhoek's city centre. The spacious rooms are individually styled and decorated with an African touch whereby the focus is on elegant simplicity. All rooms are en-suite and have a coffee & tea station, safe, refrigerator, telephone, ceiling fan and flat screen TV. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondelhof Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.