We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect resort for peace,and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GocheGanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added GocheGanas to your Saves list
GocheGanas
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 40770, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“perfect resort for peace,and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

WE went for our 32 nd marriage anniversary and we could not have asked for a better place and surrounding with excellent food( even though we are a strict vegetarian) and to cap it all, a discrete and non- intrusive but a very personalised service.

Room Tip: all rooms have a very good view as they are on higher elevations but one can choose sunset or sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingo S, Inhaber at GocheGanas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We highly appreciate your great review – thank you.
It is most valuable to know that our team was able to make your stay special and memorable.
For your anniversary the very best wishes and we hope to welcome you soon again.
With kind regards
Ingo Stritter
Co-Founder & Global Marketing Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    38
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sion, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our trip and if we return to Windhoek will make it our number one choice for accomodation.
The rooms are large and luxurious, the views incredible, excellent food, very interesting astronomy lecture and friendly staff. The spa is the icing on the cake. Just perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingo S, Inhaber at GocheGanas, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you, our team highly appreciates your positive reply. We all are most excited and proud to receive your feedback.

1850 meters above sea level accentuates the unsurpassed views of the uniquely designed rooms (chalets). Also, the star gazing is world class due to the clear and unpolluted sky on this altitude.

Our chefs and the service staff are eager to deliver the best. The Wellness Village spa is a one-of-a-kind creation; in combination with sensational treatments.

Definitely a must on your BUCKET LIST.



With kind wishes

Ingo Stritter

Co-Founder & Global Marketing Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've visited GocheGanas for the second time: It's a perfect place for starting (or ending) your roundtrip thru Namibia. A luxurious lodge, heartly staff, friendly-familiar atmosphere, perfect dinning and spectacular view.
A special experience this may 2013: On our afternoon Game-Drive we were the first who saw the one day old rhino baby!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingo S, Geschäftsführer at GocheGanas, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We feel honored having received your fantastic review - thank you.
Indeed GocheGanas is your best choice accommodation around Windhoek, combining the ultimate wildlife, adventure and wellness.
4 days ago we had yet another exciting and fortunate event – the birth of another Rhino J
For your next visit we will definitely have another spectacular event ready.

With best regards
Ingo Stritter
Co-Founder & Global Marketing Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Q, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way from Northern Namibia to the Sossusvlei Sand Dunes area. This spa has both indoor and outdoor pools and the wellness center includes sauna plus the ability to have all sorts of massages. The restaurant and bar are top notch and the food we had here was some of the best we had during our 3 weeks in Namibia. The breakfast not only included all the stuff you would normally get but it was the only place we stayed that offered smoked salmon with bagels, capers and fixings. At the top of a knoll this place has 360 degree views from the restaurant and very expansive views from every room. If you want a place to hang out, GochaGanas is going to be hard to beat. The rooms are modern and spacious and I particularly liked the large bathtub and view from the bath. For those who are looking to Namibia for animal experiences and you are interested in Rhinos, this is the place. Although it is not guaranteed, you almost certainly will see more Rhinos than you had seen anywhere else. The other animal you are likely to see are giraffes and you will likely see them in very large numbers. When we asked about big cats such as leopard and cheetahs our guide said - "You need to live in Namibia for 10 or more years before you see your first leopard." One game drive is probably enough for most animal lovers at Gocheganas. There probably will not be much more to see after one game drive here. The road just before you reach GochaGanas is exciting! Be sure you don't drive too fast because then exciting may not be the best term to describe the ride. I would recommend this as a good place to stay to break up a long drive from Northern Namibia but we found little to want us to remain longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingo S, Geschäftsführer at GocheGanas, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most comprehensive review which we highly appreciate.
In 1998 GocheGanas Private Nature Reserve & Wellness Village introduced 5 WHITE RHINO . . . today they are 22, of which 8 have been translocated to other nature reserves to preserve this unique species. Now there are 14 White Rhino on GocheGanas.
Pristine free roaming predators like leopard, cheetah and caracal are exceptionally difficult to see. GocheGanas is proud to offer true wild Africa and numerous guests have already seen these scarce creatures in our private conservation reserve.
I addition to game drives we recommend: nature walks & biking (self- or guided), star gazing experience on 1850 meters a.s.l. – of the best spots worldwide, signature wellness treatments, mountain biking trails - 8,10 & 15 km, visit the late stone age caverns (over 2 000 years old), relax in the sun & recharge your batteries and of course enjoy great food.
I hope to welcome you back to GochGanas soon again.

With best regards
Ingo Stritter
Co-Founder & Global Marketing Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently visited GocheGanas to have a look at the lodges personally as I am a tour consultant and book many clients from all over the world into lodges all over Namibia!!! I would definately recommend this lodge to anyone. From the moment we arrived we had friendly staff meeting us and they were very helpful throughout our stay. The rooms are gorgeous, spacious and all that you need and more!! The view from your private balcony is breath taking!! The lodge is also very conveniently located just outside Windhoek so this is a great first or last night's stop!! The spa is out of this world and the therapists are very good!! I had a lovely message to end off my stay. The food was also very good and restaurant staff very friendly!! I would go back to visit any day and would not mind staying here for a week!! Myself and my partner enjoyed our stay and thank you again for your friendliness and hospitality!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingo S, Inhaber at GocheGanas, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Wilmari,

Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are proud to offer a unique experience and a great service.

We hope to see you and your guests soon.

With best regards,
Ingo Stritter
Co-founder & global marketing represerntative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. The people, the food, the service... and the sauna is the nicest I have ever been in.
Gocheganas is situated just 30km outside Windhoek and it is quite possible to just go there for the day and spend your time telaxing in the wellness centre. However, the rooms are gorgeous and the beds are extremely comfortable.
I found the staff very helpful and so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingo S, Manager at GocheGanas, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Annelize,

Thank you very much for your very nice comment and we are more than happy to hear that you loved the place. We try hard to keep everybody satisfied and I thank also herewith my staff members who do such good job and are always friendly and helpful.
We hope to welcome you soon again at GocheGanas.

Kindest regards,
Kristina
General Manager of GocheGanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our safari adventure around Namibia. It was conveniently located just outside of Windhoek and took about an hour to get to the airport the following afternoon.
Beware of the rollercoaster road as you approach Goche Ganas. I loved it but some people might not like the experience!
The rooms are very nicely appointed with a lovely bathroom with semi-sunken bath with a roof-light on the ceiling. I loved having a bath and staring up at the starry sky through my glass ceiling.
The food was probably the best I have had in Namibia - we don't eat meat and some places struggled to cope with this.
The grounds were beautiful and the pool area with its views of the surrounding mountains was breathtaking. We spent our last morning relaxing by the pool after enjoying a massage in the wellness centre.
The indoor pool was a bonus and was at a much more comfortable temperature than the outdoor pool and I liked the fact that there was a small gym though I didn't get a chance to use it.
The game drive was a bit disappointing with a rather unenthusiastic guide. My son has a great eye and spotted most things before the guide but what made it worthwhile was seeing seven rhinos including two babies. We had only seen one other rhino during our two weeks in Namibia. I would not come here for a safari experience but I would recommend this place as an excellent place to start of end your safari as it was very relaxing and very convenient for the airport.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the reception as possible unless you like walking up steep hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janinev1971, Public Relations Manager at GocheGanas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are always happy to hear how much guests enjoyed their stay at GocheGanas. So sorry about the Nature Guide - we will certainly check in on this!
Hope to welcome you back sometime!
Your GocheGanas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GocheGanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GocheGanas

Address: P.O. Box 40770, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — GocheGanas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a mere 25 minutes south-east of Windhoek on a hilltop overlooking a spectacular landscape. GocheGanas is a luxury lodge offering a unique combination of wildlife, nature and wellness experiences. 16 Totally private luxurious suites - 15 elegant chalets and 1 crown chalet (extra room with terrace & bathroom), all under thatched roofs with uninterrupted and spectacular views over the surrounding reserve. 25 Different large game species, including white rhino, bat-eared fox, giraffe, zebra, eland, leopard, cheetah and other fascinating species roam the 6 000 hectare nature reserve. GocheGanas boasts with 11 specialised treatment rooms and state-of-the-art equipment; outdoor and indoor (heated) swimming pool; fitness gym and yoga facilities; the Granite Bath (Cave Sauna); fruit and juice bar; restaurant perched on a hilltop; bar with a 360-degree view, sundowner terraces, exclusive conferencing facilities and star-gazing fire circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your GocheGanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gocheganas Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GocheGanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.