We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant is a favourite of ours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Olive Grove to your Saves list
Olive Grove
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   20 Promenaden Road | P.O. Box 90590, Windhoek 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 73 Windhoek B&B and Inns
namibia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Restaurant is a favourite of ours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We live in Windhoek so don't stay at the B&B itself, but some of my husband's business colleagues do stay there and love it. We, however, love the restaurant and go there often both with friends and with business associates of my husband's. The menu has an option of three options for each course and it doesn't change that often; but the food is excellent. Olive Grove has moved to the top of our list of places to eat in Windhoek. It also has a lovely view and is a peaceful and serene place to go for a drink. We still have to try the breakfast there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    99
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
157
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
batam Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

After 22 hours of travel this place was heavenly. Big spacious room with terrace and a hug bathtub to soak our wiry bones. Staff was courteous and helpful and the food was yummy although a bit on the pricy side. Great place for a short stop over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent two nights at Olive Grove at the start and end of our self drive trip. The first room we were given was small, dark, a small double bed (we had requested twin). There was a large group there and we felt we had been pushed aside for them. The 'taps' in the room were just stop valves used for plumbing not proper taps at all. We could hardly turn then on or off.

The second room was much much better. Large, twin beds, proper taps. It was like a different hotel.

The temporary managers during our first stay were very nice and the resident manager during our second stay very helpful. All the staff were friendly.

Next time we go to Namibia we will try to find somewhere out of town that has countryside around it and perhaps animals roaming. Olive Grove just did not feel like we were in Africa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Beautiful small boutique hotel in a residential area of Windhoek. Nice, comfortable and elegant rooms with distinctive character. Specially loved the bathroom and the sitting area around the small pool. Good restaurant and excellent personalize service.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, South-East, Botswana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Olive Grove is a very stylish guesthouse situated close to the city centre in a peaceful suburb and is one of our favourite places to stay in Windhoek. With only twelve rooms and suites it has a very intimate feel and a reputation for providing exceptional service and very good food. The staff here really has got the balance just right- relaxed and friendly yet efficient and attentive without being intrusive.

The rooms are simply yet elegantly furnished and they all have a veranda with table and chairs which can also be used for al fresco dining. The communal areas are a real delight to spend time in with a comfortable lounge and fireplace to relax in as well as an attractive courtyard and garden. Another highlight is the fact that the in-house restaurant is superb and guests can, subject to availability, also dine at the outstanding restaurant at the Olive Exclusive, their sister property next door. The guesthouse also features an outdoor plunge pool, spa, bar area and WiFi internet facilities.

Steffi Presske - Gondwana Tours and Safaris, Maun, Botswana

Room Tip: if your budget permits upgrage to the Olive Eclusive next door ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana, Kentucky, Usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Olive Grove May 10th,staff friendly enough,breakfast average. Room noise too much!!All concrete walls not a help,street noise,kitchen, other bathrooms{other guests}noise,I would try Olive Grove Exec up the hill next time!

Room Tip: stay away from street and kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

staff and management very friendly and efficient, food was also very good. getting into windhoek was within walking distance as we walked in twice in one day. the room was very nice apart from the fact that my wife who is only 5 feet tall had trouble reaching the sink to clean her teeth. i would also recommend that you eat all of your meals at olive grove as the restaurant up top is no better and pricey

Room Tip: choose a room further from gate as the gate opening is a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove

Address: 20 Promenaden Road | P.O. Box 90590, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olive Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove is a small upmarket accommodation establishment situated close to the city centre in a quiet, peaceful area. Big Sky’s first property in Windhoek and bordering The Olive Exclusive, the guesthouse takes homely atmosphereto a different level. Recently completely refurbished, each room has been decorated and painted with new colourschemes allowing a different feel, but with the same elegant and simplistic emphasis on décor.The newly renovated, open-plan kitchen allows guests to see how meals are prepared, while they enjoy a drink in the lounge. The menu was also reinvented and is now fully a la carte, quite unique for a guesthouse. Home-style food is rounded off with great presentation, pushing up the level of the guesthouse dining experience. The upper deck hasbeen revamped into a private dining corner, with two Moroccan-style sections, for guests to get comfy on the large pillows and enjoy the ambience and view from the top.The on-site Wellness Room offers a selection of professional services, to assist guests on their journey towards inner and outer well-being.Whilst each of the ten rooms and one suite cater for every need of the most discerning traveller, the emphasis remains one of simplicity and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.