We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Furstenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Furstenhof to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Furstenhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Frans Indongo Street | corner of Mandume Ndefayo Avenue, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night . When we checked in the receptionist was disinterested , her and the man on the door just looked at us as we struggled with our bags to our room. Room was OK although the bed and linen left a lot to be desired. Air conditioning unit was not working. Room was clean though. The next morning we asked the new receptionist where the information centre was. She didn't know. we looked it up on the map then asked her what time it would open. She said 9am. We went there and the information centre is CLOSED ALL DAY SUNDAY. We then went back to the hotel and told them this and they tried to argue with us that it was open. Breakfast was chaotic. We asked for scrambled eggs. They bought one poached egg, we explained we had ordered 2 scrambled eggs. They then came back with one portion of scrambled eggs which was cold. We waited then for the 2nd portion to arrive. We have stayed at Protea hotels in South Africa and they have been clean, efficient and good value for money. Would definitely NOT
recommend this one

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
11
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Upon arrival I was welcomed with an abrubt YES as response to my Good Afternoon. Then "you are too early!" even though I phoned the previous day to ask what time I can check in and was told anytime from 11h00. I only arrived at 12h00.

No directions to my room or assistance offered with my baggage by reception. No porters in site. Found my room finally only to open up with the key card to find a stranger in there already accopying the room.

New room given had window overlooking where staff socialised as I could hear them talking loudly tll late and next morning woken up with their noice as well.

No hot water for shower or bath the first evening and next morning. That was sorted during the course of the day.

Body covered in insect bites (not mosquitos!) after first night and even more after the 2nd night. Room definitely needs to be fumigates. Maybe entire hotel.

Towels smell of strong jik or some bleach. Not pleasant to use.

Toilets don't flush properly, room as well as the toilets close to Khomas 4 conference room.

And then the final straw - both my work and personal mobile phones were stolen out of my handbag underneath a table in conference room Khomas 4. This happened in the hour we were all outside for speaches at end of conference. No assistance from the manager offered to e.g. reort to police, block SIMS etc.

Apologies to the few very lovely hotel staff e.g. Aina and Jesaja. If not for them I would have checked out the first morning.

This experience was very dissapointing and not what is expected from a Protea Hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room! Rather stay at the Hilton or Belverdere Boutique Hotel in Windhoek
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Anyone who does business knows it's critical to have internet included at their hotel. They advertise that they have free internet - it's false advertisement. They provide a minuscule amount of free data - gone within a half hour - and then charge ruthlessly for any additional. Not worth it for business. Front desk service is also quite slow, although restaurant servers remarkably charming

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Being lucky enough to have stayed in various Protea Hotels this was by far the worst experience yet. From checking in where my original room did not have a key to breakfast in the morning where the apple juice had some type of slime in it and the sausages raw - even after asking them to correct it on two occasions with the scrambled eggs this morning being blue and no coffee for breakfast. On top of all of this the free wireless is non-existent as it doesn't connect and runs "out of data" within a few minutes. They indicated they do not know what the problem is and currently I am sitting with my 6th or 7th username and also just decided to purchase data instead of running up and down to reception - which is unacceptable. The swimming pool by the spa also looks more like a koi pond as it is green in colour and dirty. Another point I want to raise, coming from South Africa, we booked the hotel at a rate of +-N$ 1500 and upon our arrival it was advertised for N$ 995 per room. I truly hope the Protea Hotel comes to inspect and see for themselves as this is totally not aligned with their brand as a whole.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed for 6 nights in July. Staff were very friendly and helpful - I arrived early in the morning and they allowed me to use a shower without checking in so that I could go to my meetings that day. I checked in later and was given a choice of rooms.
Internet (WiFi) was ok - bit slow and it dropped a few times while I was there.
The pool is maybe 10 foot long - not worth getting wet for. But next to the pool is YouNique Day Spa where Fadiah gives a superb massage. Do not miss this!
The hotel is next to a main road and coud benefit from double glazing. However the noise was not excessive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed here for 4 nights. Really enjoyed the stay. Room comfortable, staff are very friendly. Nice bar and restaurant area. As I am vegetarian , the chef was happy to make special meals for me. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight. Very nice room...spacious with lots of place to put our stuff! Lovely bathroom seperate from room with bath and shower. Crisp white linen and comfy beds. Staff very pleasant and efficient.
Breakfast was not great...mostly all gone by 8am, therefore nothing to really eat.
Biggest downfall is the main road as it is noisy, but still managed a good nights rest.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Furstenhof

Address: 4 Frans Indongo Street | corner of Mandume Ndefayo Avenue, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Fürstenhof - Old-Style Hospitality in a Modern Setting. Experience true Namibian hospitality in the tranquil environment of Protea Hotel Fürstenhof. Friendly people and sunny skies all add to the alluring charm of this town where old meets new. Situated only five minutes’ walk from the city centre and with easy access to taxis; Protea Hotel Fürstenhof is the ideal base for your Windhoek adventure. The hotel offers GUESTS pristine comfort in 33 air-conditioned en-suite rooms as well as conferencing and banqueting facilities for up to 120 delegates. After a busy day at the office or exploring the town, visit the Office Bar and Restaurant or wind down in the comfort of your room with our 18-hour room service. Relax by the pool or if you want to visit places of interest nearby, make sure to use or shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Furstenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.