We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heja Lodge

Heja Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heja Lodge
Save
You added Heja Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 588, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ladysmith KZN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Bad service, bad attitude from management and badly trained staff and waiters. BAD,BAD,BAD. Do not stay there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days as part of a conference. Staff were friendly and helpful and food excellent. Could take more advantage of the location by providing canoes for hire on the nearby lake or Bikes for hire on the nearby tracks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Judging by the two previous reviews from 2009, Heja Game Lodge has improved a lot in the last two years.

My boyfriend and I stayed at the lodge for a conference and stayed on for a few days afterwards. We were met with nothing but friendliness from the extremely helpful staff, from managers to cleaners, and by the end of the week, we actually felt sad to leave for Swakopmund because we had come to feel at home at Heja.

The lodge is rural, yes, but it is clean, the rooms are cosy and spacious, and the food is absolutely amazing. A word of warning: Don't order a starter AND a main course, unless you have the appetite of one of the big hunters we saw consuming a whole chicken by himself - the portions are enormous, and you really don't want to leave anything on the plate as it is too good to waste (try the oryx steak, the thought of it still makes my mouth water!).

If you don't like animals anywhere else than on your dinner plate, however, this is probably not the place for you. You will meet a cat, two small dogs and occasionally even a small and very cute horse (!) in the lobby, and a flock of guinea fowl as well as a flock of rather aggressive geese roam freely outside. But, if you love animals as I do, this just adds to the charm of the place (except for the geese, which I would happily have consumed for dinner instead).

The main attraction of Heja Game Lodge is probably its location. It is beautifully situated in the mountains and with its 20 000 ha of surrounding land, it really allows you to unwind and leave the stress of everyday life at home. To me, coming from a densely populated country, these vast expanses of uninhabited land and the complete silence only occasionally broken by the sound of animals are utterly mind-blowing. If you like horse riding, take a guided trip on horseback on the lands - it is a completely different way of experiencing the land and the game than on a game drive in a jeep. In case you feel uncomfortable not being in touch with civilisation, there is a computer with free internet in the lobby, and mobile coverage is excellent.

As for transport, the staff at the lodge provides a shuttle service to Windhoek or to the airport at request. You should bring your own car, though, as it will give you much greater freedom to go where you want whenever you want to.

On the negative side, we only really had one major complaint: As it was winter, it was freezing cold in the lobby area, the restaurant and the conference rooms most of the time. The staff did everything they could, providing blankets, heaters etc., and if you can get a seat next to the fireplace in the restaurant, you will be comfortable. Fortunately, the heating in our room worked fine during the whole stay, even though it took some time for the room to warm up at first.

A minor irritant was the fact that the participants of another conference held a few days after ours had booked the entire restaurant for themselves two nights in a row so that everyone else had to eat their dinner in the much colder lobby area - away from that lovely fireplace. Luckily, entertainment was provided by the cat begging at a table where a man was eating fish - quite a sight!

In summary: Heja Game Lodge does not pretend to be a fancy five-star hotel, but it is clean and homely, the location is superb, and the food and service should keep even the most critical guest happy. Just remember plenty of warm clothes if you visit in winter!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

One of the DIRTIEST place I have ever been, a real shame: we spent three weeks in Namibia, and we always found really clean accomodation (even the simpliest and cheapest ones!!), and this lodge is a real SHAME.
We slept completely dressed, and we cannot wait to leave, very early in the morning: even if you need (like us) a place near the airport, do NOT stay here. They are more than 20 km far from it (hence not so different from klein windhoek!), and you will find a real crap: dirty sheets (full of stains, bleah!!), awful towel, an unapproachable "pool" (looks more like a pond), broken decks, and so on.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Heja Game Lodge for 3 nights where our friends had a wedding ceremony. There was a party of about 30 people from our group that attended the wedding ceremony. The surrounding of the lodge is beautiful but entirely spoilt by the management's ignorance to any issues that were raised during our stay. First of all, the service we paid for promised an access to a 'crystal clear swimming pool'. The swimming pool was far from clear as it had a yellowy/greeny colour with frogs in it. When we asked for the water to be cleaned or changed we were told that there is a lot of chlorine in the swimming pool and therefore the management believed it was clean. When we disagreed we were given excuses such as... 'the water becomes dirty when it rains', 'This is a farm'. Well, I believe that water does not come dirty from the sky and if they promote their services as having a swimming pool with a 'crystal clear water' then that is what I expect. They disagreed with this and kept going on about the chlorine in the water and that anything in the water should be dead! Well, I cannot say if there was anything at the bottom of the pool because you just could not see anything. So I asked when was the water last changed and was told about 4 months ago! I found it totally unacceptable that not only the management did not do anything about it but they did not even care! We dealt with a white young guy who said he was the manager. The next problem we encountered was on the day of the ceremony. It was agreed that chairs and drinks will be taken to the ceremony (held outside) BEFORE the ceremony starts so the guests could have a drink whilst waiting for the bride and have a seat in the soaring heat. It did not arrive until the ceremony was over! So once again they proved to be totally incompetent. Heja Game Lodge also offers breakfast, lunch and dinner on the site. We had to return 5 out of 10 dinner dishes and when we complained, the person went to shout at the chef but the bill still showed the full amount. We had to go and disagree with the bill and ask for a discount. On this occasion discount was in the end given but only because we went to argue with the staff. Never did we hear an apology and the staff and the management just does not care about their customers.

  • Liked — The surroundings
  • Disliked — Services
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heja Lodge

Address: PO Box 588, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Heja Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heja Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.