We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fortnight in Namibia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dog Safaris - Day Tours

Wild Dog Safaris - Day Tours
No 6, Eros Road | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
+(264)61257642
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wild Dog Safaris is the premier budget-safari company in Namibia. With many years of experience we run high quality safaris at a reasonable price. All trips are run with a maximum of 14 people. We offer day trips as well as 3 day to 14 day Scheduled Trips with regular departures and also any private guided or selfdrive trips.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
preston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent fortnight in Namibia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A great experience. Camping under the stars in a variety of stunning locations. Our guide Willem was excellent, a real character. There's a lot travel involved but in the ten days you get to see the fabulous variation in landscape the Namibia has to offer - not to mention the wildlife. Wild Dog Safaris were very helpful when our flight was delayed by 24 hrs and sorted us out smoothly.

We added on the extra two day visit with Peter-Hain via (and Charles) and Uakii Wilderness Survival. An incredible and moving experience; meeting local people, visiting the San in the bush, singing and dancing round the camp fire under the stars. I recommend anyone to give this a go. Peter-Hain was Simon Reeve's guide for the BBC programme "Tropic of Capricorn".

Overall this wasn't a mere holiday but a new life experience to treasure. Thanks Wild Dogs and Peter-Hain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“magical camping safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did the 15 day Dune and Delta Safari. It was magical. The two nights on the uninhabited island in the Okavango (think Robinson Crusoe) were unforgettable. We loved every minute. From the trip in the narrow boat to the island, the total and deafening silence, the water lillies, birds and monkeys, to the knowledge of the local guides and the little island itself where we never saw another human being. During the day we did water safari tours where we saw hippo and elephants. At night we lay in our tent listening to hippos grazing nearby. Namibia was wonderful, Etosha and Sossusvlei absolute highlights. Not all lodges were great and I thought Swakopmund empty, artificially German and frankly ridiculous. (To hear they have Oktober Fests doesn't surprise me...) You're far better off doing the township tour instead. Our guides were great company, superbly knowledgable and helpful. My only complaint is that the mattrasses were rather thin. Which says enough about how much we loved this tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We did the 10 day Windhoek to Victoria falls trip, highlights were staying with San Bushman in Namibia and Botswana. Two nights on the Okavango delta, in Botswana, one night on the Caprivi strip, 2 nights in Chobe and 2 nights in Livingston for the Victoria falls. During the 10 days we saw four of the big five. There were 8 of us on the trip so plenty of room to spread out on the truck. Our guide George did a fantastic job with the cooking and assisting with the tents. During the last 10 years we have travelled to 65 different countries, this trip with Wild Dog was one of the highlights.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Etosha and Namib desert combo and had a very good time at both places. The Etosha park has allowed us to see all the animals there, even cheetas. The camps in Etosha and Sossusvlei are great with pools for humans and waterholes for animals. The company gave us tents and other camping equipment in a very good state. Elias our guide made us feel good all the time, he knows how to interact with peacefull turist but also with more demanding ones. Erastus our cook made every meal a celebration. Only negative point would be that the cars need some attention. Over all a very good experience, i can just recommend the company as very good and one of the cheepest on the market.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Dog Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Wild Dog Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dog Safaris - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.