We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable, but maybe too quiet for some.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivendell Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rivendell Guest House to your Saves list
Rivendell Guest House
40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 78 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable, but maybe too quiet for some.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed here twice in November, either side of a self-drive around Namibia. The hostel is very nice; clean, comfortable and safe. However, it's a bit of a walk from the town centre and after 5ish it started to feel a little risky to be wandering around. Taxis are dirt-cheap though so this shouldn't put you off.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    91
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
91
34
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The staff the was extremely nice and helpful in many aspects. Overall guest house is quiet and peaceful, great place to relax before or after a tour! Will definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Actually I don't want to write a recommendation for Rivendell Guest House, because otherwise there would be now free rooms for my next stay in Windhoek cause everything is fully booked. What should I say....well, Rivendell is a beautiful place to stay in Windhoek. Thanks to all the girls who are working there. All of them are very helpfull and nice! The rooms are great, the house is nice, and the pool is great for refreshing after a day in the desert. Also the breakfast is nice and it has everything a hungry european wishes: cereals, eggs in all variations from sunny side up to scrambled with fried tomatoes or hash browns. I really loved this place and we came back during our trip through Namibia for several times. Keep on Rivendell - see you next time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Trip advisor has been useful to me in the past, but this place is way overrated, I have stayed in better back-packers, shared bathrooms, wet and untidy, staff asking for loans with long stories, no internet, breakfast not early enough, not included in the room rate and a bit overpriced. owners seem a bit falsely friendy, need I go on.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Many thanks for your comments, I am very disappointed to hear about your negative experience.

Four of our ten rooms have shared bathroom facilities and these are obviously cheaper than the en-suite rooms. Our central bathroom is cleaned and tidied many frequently throughout the day and I can only apologise that it was not of a satisfactory standard when you stayed with us.

If you can possibly remember the name of the staff member who approached you for a loan please contact our new manager Ciska directly on ciska@infotour-africa.com. This is totally unacceptable and action will be taken. We have recently taken on three new staff so I sincerely hope that whoever spoke to you is one of the people who are no longer with us.

We do have internet which is online from 07h00 until 22h00, and we now have WiFi available for a small cost. Unfortunately I cannot comment on why it was not working while you were here, this is not something which I was made aware of and I will follow up.

Breakfast is offered from 07h00 until 10h00, or later if guests require. We also offer breakfast packs to people who wish to leave earlier than 07h00 and our chef is here from 06h30.

Myself and my husband were actually away on holiday for much of August so it is possible that you did not meet us during your stay. If you did meet us then I apologise if we came across as 'falsely friendly', we try extremely hard to welcome all our guests genuinely and have spent many years offering help and advice to travellers from all over the world. My husband is on site from 08h00 until 19h00 most days to step in and assist the managers when needed.

Our rates are among the cheapest in Windhoek for the facilities offered and we do feel that we offer a genuine, friendly and value for money experience. We are very sorry that this was not your impression and we will endevour to constantly improve our standards of service.

Best regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez Malaga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We spent two nights B & B at Rivendell. Very comfortable room - good breakfast. Nice bar.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Nice swimming pool, which could be a little warmer!
Flag a taxi outside for the city centre rather than book to save money.
Certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Windhoek is a very busy and hectic city, so great to have this respite in the middle of it all. There is also a small restaurant across the street so we did not have to fight the traffic. The pool and deck area are perfect for relaxing. We preferred the apartment to the rooms poolside, but would also recommend the rooms with shared bath in the house. The manager could not be more helpful or friendly. We do recommend going to the copy place in town near the Symot and Checkers grocery for internet however, it's half the price and twice as fast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarhus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Rivendell is a very nice place to start your trip around Namibia. It is very central and yet calm with a friendly and helpful staff. Strongly recommended.
Ove

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivendell Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.