We stayed in an ensuite room for two nights recently. The plusses: the grounds are beautiful, the communal kitchen very user-friendly, our room was clean, it felt safe, walking distance to the center of the city was fine, and it was very close to a restaurant we really enjoyed (Fusion). Negatives: The wi-fi situation seemed unacceptable. Guests pay for wireless by paying for set amounts of time (a daily fee would have worked better in this case). The problem is that service is inconsistent and very slow. We bought time but half of the time was spent waiting for connections. Then we tried using the office computer (which we would have had to pay for) but the person in the office couldn't get it to work. We ate breakfast there one morning. It was good but very overpriced. We had been traveling for a while and hadn't paid that price for breakfast anywhere, including places with excellent breakfasts. Finally, there are some privacy issues with at least some of the ensuite bathrooms. In one of the rooms, the top part of the door (where glass/wood should have been) was missing, so everyone could hear everything. In another room, the wall separating the bathroom from the room only went up part of the way and the door was a saloon-type door. This may not bother you, but if you're shy about these things, you may want to confirm what you're actually getting in your room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for your recent feedback, we really value our guests opinions and appreciate you taking the time to write. I am really pleased that the overall impression of our grounds, the rooms and communal areas was positive, and it is also great to hear that you enjoyed Fusion, the local restaurant which is just down the road from us.
Report response as inappropriate
I am sorry that you had problems using the internet. The WiFi system is something that we installed just last year, so far it has worked really well on the whole but very ocassionally we do have issues. We have spoken to Telecom Namibia about this and they have come to check the system. From their side and ours it appears to be working fine. However, the internet speeds in Africa as a whole, and Namibia specifically in this case, are a lot slower than in other parts of the world, something that can be a frustration for us living and working here, as well as our overseas guests. Telecom Namibia have recently installed a high speed fibre optic cable which we really hope will improve the situation. We have certainly seen some better service, but time will tell as to whether this will continue. We certainly hope so! Unfortunately Telecom do not give us the option for guests to pay for a whole day of WiFi access, and with our prices being as low as they are we cannot afford to offer this as a free of charge service until the Telecome prices come down.
I have addressed the issue with regards our internet computer with our manager as it is unacceptable that it was not working while you were with us. It seems there is a problem with the screen which we will replace this week.
We have not increased the price of our breakfasts since January 2011, and the price will also stay the same for the whole of 2013. The price is around average for lodges and guesthouses in Namibia - N$80 per person. I realise that is quite expensive if you only have the continental option, but for that price you can also have a full cooked breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, hash browns, tomato) as well as all of the continental buffet options. We have also kept this as an added extra, it is not included in our usual room rate which is very competative, and this was decided upon specifically so that people had the option to eat with us or to self-cater.
Two of our double rooms do have saloon style half doors, but this is only in rooms with one double bed which are more suitable for couples. In the one twin room which has glass missing from the top of the wooden door at present, we are planning to completely renovate that bathroom during our quiet season (November/ December 2012). Guests reading this are more than happy to request a room with a more private bathroom if they prefer, and we will happily accomodate that.
Thank you once again and I hope that you had a wonderful trip to Namibia!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.