We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great oasis in frenetic Windhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivendell Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rivendell Guest House to your Saves list
Rivendell Guest House
40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 78 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great oasis in frenetic Windhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We picked Rivendell based on its previous good reviews over other places. It fulfilled all our expectations. It was a good mixture of breakfast provided but with full self-catering facilities if preferred in a central kitchen area. It was also close enough to the city centre to easily pop out for meals if required or to have take-aways delivered.It was a bit cool for us to use the pool but people were and it looked great. One minor word of caution, the accommodation can be paid for by credit card but they request extras such as drinks and food to be paid cash.

Room Tip: It is well worth the extra for the en-suite rooms as the trek to the bathroom can be a bit of a nuis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    91
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
91
34
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarin Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our trip to Namibia was a complete success . I would like to thank the Rivendell team for their warm welcome & special thanks to Ciska who helped & gave us some good advises before we started our trip.

I recommand this guest house for its services & affordable price .

Irina & Jean Pierre

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

As others have said, you feel at home and it is a perfect place to organize your holiday or regroup after it! Enjoy and if you can get a pool side room, very very nice!

Room Tip: pool side rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We went to Namibia on a camping safari in March and stayed at the Rivendell guest house both before and after the trip for a total of 6 nights.  For our first two nights we were assigned room #1
by the pool.  It was a very spacious room with a large ensuite bathroom.  Towels, linens, and pillows were good.  The room is away from the street and was very quiet.  On our return we were assigned room #3 which was considerably smaller.  However, there is a seating area in the verandah, just outside the room.  Also, there is plenty of seating around the pool area.  There is also a beautiful patio area near the front of the hotel for guests.  
One of the nicest features of the Rivendell guest house is the large kitchen for guests to use.  We were able to store our food in the fridge and made a great meal in the kitchen, each night, with our friends.  Beverages are available at a reasonable price.  Parking is available at the back at no charge and is secure.  WiFi is available throughout the guest house but we found it a touch expensive.  The staff at Rivendell did a fine job and Valerie and Vela at the reception desk were extremely helpful.  A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was our second visit to Rivendell, for a couple of nights on our arrival in Windhoek (First one was 3 years ago). It is in a good location, only 10 minutes walk to the city centre but in a peaceful suburban street. The grounds are safe and secure (with secure parking) and have a nice sunny garden and outdoor pool area and terrace to enjoy a rest after a days sightseeing. There is kitchen facilities to use if you want and an honesty bar as well to help yourself to a drink or piece of home made cake. There is also now wifi in the grounds, which works best near the main house area and the wifi vouchers are cheap.

We stayed in the "Bag End" ensuite room, near the garden/pool area, which was clean and welcoming. Ciska and the rest of the team working there were friendly and helpful and did all they could to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was expensive but huge, including a full hot breakfast and continental together, and is not included in the room prices so optional!

If you stay in Rivendell I can really recommend visiting the restaurant "NICE" on Mozart Street, which is a fantastic experience and walking distance from the guest house.

Some of the other reviewers have mentioned that Rivendell is quite expensive - in actual fact, European vistors will realise that accomodation in Namibia in general is expensive, and Rivendell is actually reasonably priced compared to many of the other guest houses in Windhoek. I would class Rivendell as an upmarket backpacker guest house, rather than one of the luxury places, but it still offers a good value and peaceful stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was the second time we stayed in Rivendell Guesthouse to start a trip in Namibia and the service is still perfect.
Nice clean rooms, very friendly staff, nice breakfast, 10 min walk from the center of Windhoek.
I would recommend this guesthouse to my friends!

Lisbeth
Belgium

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Lisbeth,

Many thanks for your review, it's great to know that you enjoyed your second stay as much as your first, and I hope that we can keep on improving our service over the years!

Warm regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheverly, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

After two days of flights from US to Namibia, we needed a rest. Our stay at Rivendell was pre-arranged by Wild-Dog Safaris. We were very pleased with the selection.

We were warmly greeted by the staff. We had a small en-suite room overlooking the small pool.

The house is surrounded by lush, shady plants. It is in a very quiet neighborhood (across the street from the China embassy.) It had a very family feel. There were a couple of families staying there.

The house has a big kitchen for use at anytime. The honor bar fridge was great and the prices were so low. The breakfasts were made to order. My wife ordered eggs, I had the full English. We met some great people at the breakfast table. The front porch of the house was a nice place to sit.

The location is close to the center of Windhoek. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the city center and Post Street Mall.

The staff was very helpful in setting up dinner reservations and transfers (taxi) to and from Joe's Beerhouse and Luigi's. (Highly recommend both restaurants.)

We stayed at another guesthouse after the safari but we definitely prefer Rivendell.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCartwright, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Many thanks for your review, it is great to hear that you enjjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivendell Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.