We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Piccolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Piccolo to your Saves list
Casa Piccolo
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Barella Street | Klein Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 73 Windhoek B&B and Inns
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent our first night in Namibia at this comfortable hotel. The room was clean and spacious, and the breakfast was decent (fruit, bread, cereal, sliced meats and cheese...). If you want fried eggs in the morning, be sure to request them - we didn't learn until the end of our meal that they were available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
21
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rubiera, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were 2 adults and 2 children and the room was really spacious, two rooms divided by one door.
Clean and confortable room and bathroom.
Since they don't have restaurant service, they offer the possibility to order a take away dinner if you are tired and do not desire to go out.
Friendly but not very flexible staff: we asked for an early breakfast, but they only offered us a breakfast pack. Don't know how the breakfast would have been at the guesthouse.
Altough they knew we were arriving early in the morning, it took some time to get the room ready, but it was not a great problem, we relaxed in the garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at Casa Piccolo only one night, the first one in my trip through Namibia and Botswana. The room was big and pleasant, the bed utterly comfortable (though maybe a hole day on a plane before arriving Windhoek made it seem more comfortable......). The breakfast, good as well, with a convenient variety.
The place is a little bit far from anywhere to have dinner, but they offer you the contact of a couple of restaurants so that you can order you meal and eat it in the room.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed there twice a night, the first and the last night of our trip. This little place is very peaceful and the owner was very kind and gave useful advice on where to eat, and she let us store our luggage in her office while we did a last trip into the city before the departure in the evening.
The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. There is also free Wifi.
The rooms can be cold in the winter, but this seem to be normal in Namibia that rooms have no heating (9 out of 10 places had no heating).
The location is good, although you would need a car to get into the center (this takes only like 10 minutes). One of the more famous bars/restaurant Joe's Beer House is also not very far and easy to find. I think this can be easily walked (by car its less than 5 minutes).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent our last night in Namibia at Casa Piccolo. The German owner welcomed us pointing at the different rules that hold such as the closing of the gate, etc. The room was ok with two separate beds which we managed to put together. The shower had warm but not hot water and given temperatures it got quite cold (the heater isn't that efficient). However we slept well on good matresses.

In the morning we were waken up by a group of Italian tourists who were directly in fron of our room at the small swimming pool. Breakfast was ok.

The location is slightly outside Windhoek. You need a car to get downtown. Everytine we left the property the alarm would go off and the owner had to call the security service. Before coming home at night we had to call the owner to turn off the alarm.

Internet is available for free at the reception.

We give this place an average ranking as the price of 85€ was reasonably high.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of March for one night. It was very easy to find coming from the airport.There was plenty of parking our big 4x4. Parking was secure behind an electrically operated gated fence. We received a cordial welcome by the owner. Our room was comfortable and quiet- just the ticket after a 16 hour journey. There was plenty of storage for our luggage and a small selection of drinks in the 'mini-bar'. The rooms had direct access to the courtyard ( no noisy internal corridors)

For our evening meal Claudia recommended a local restaurant (Am Weinberg) which was excellent. Breakfast was both filling and excellent (full English and continental), a superb preparation for our long journey to the Namibian desert!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Casa Piccolo on our last night in Namibia, before taking a return flight to the UK. Claudia, the most friendly and efficient owner, kindly let us stay pass the usual check out time (10am).

The concept of separate "cottages" works well and there is a peaceful garden with a pool perfect for sunbathing and rest. Rooms are spacious, centrally air-conditioned and well-furnished (fridge, TV, tea facilities). Very good breakfast.

There are good quality towels and a powerful modern shower. Secure parking. It is a short drive to Joe's Beerhouse, a large unusual restaurant that serves large potions of meat-based meals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Piccolo

Address: 6 Barella Street | Klein Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Piccolo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cold drink at the pool while watching Namibia’s impressive starry sky in the quiet restful garden of our sixteen-bedroom pension in one of Windhoek’s oldest suburbs – what better way to relax after a hectic day at work, a long flight or an unforgettable journey through Namibia. We offer: a healthy, scrumptious breakfast will have you geared for an eventful day. Our large, tastefully furnished rooms for up to 4 people, some of them handicapped accessible, with bathroom en-suite (shower and toilet) are all equipped with: Air condition, Safe, Mini bar, Coffee and tea facilities, Television (English and German channels), Telephone with direct line, Wi-Fi connection (free of charge), Laundry service on request at extra charge, free of charge safekeeping of your luggage on the premises. Our services also include a large, secure parking space inside our yard as well as the organization of a reliable shuttle service to/from the airport and booking of a taxi service within Windhoek. Prices on request. Shop till you drop; wine and dine or dance the night away in Windhoek’s city centre, only a short drive away. Amenities such as hairdressers, a massage and beauty salon (we will gladly do the booking for you), doctors, pharmacies and grocery stores, banks with ATM machines, restaurants and pubs are within walking distance to Casa Piccolo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Piccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Piccolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.