We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Futuristic Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro

The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro
Shop No. 25, Bougain Villas, 320 Sam Nujoma Drive | Klein Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
+264 61 30 9141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A lovely venue, a fine selection of private cellar wines and exclusive rights to serve the premium meat produce of Namibia!
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
“Futuristic Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Got on the net one day to look-up a great place where I could go treat myself.The Google Search Engine screamed "The Stellenbosch Wine Bar & Bistro".Found their page on Facebook,saw what they had on the menu and I have to say my taste buds were aroused.

The following day I get an email from someone at the office inviting me to this place.I scream and shout and do a Happy Dance.I thank God as I think to myself I get to go dine at one of Namibia's Finest Restaurants and I don't have to pay a cent.

Date and time has been confirmed my outfit has been picked.Just waiting for the day to pass as I have a date tomorrow with "The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro".

I have my expectations I hope they are met.Will inform you about my experience,that's that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    84
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cullercoats
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fair, reasonable, nice, okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We'd seen the buzz about this place and were intrigued. We emailed a booking from UK for an evening meal some weeks prior to visiting and received a prompt reply confirming the booking. Which turned out to be a fairly pointless exercise as the booking wasn't anywhere on the maitre's list when we got there. Still, they found us a nice table right away and the staff were friendly and nice.

The food was entirely pleasant and my sirloin was cooked just the way I'd ordered it. There was a mix up with the steak sauce I'd ordered, but they corrected the issue promptly. The apple pie and ice cream was good- very tasty.

At the current exchange rates, the whole meal was exceptionally good value for money. You really wouldnt get anything near the same, including a bottle of wine, for similar money in Europe.

The venue seems okay but the night time lighting in the courtyard is minimalistic (or dark). Hard to see the decor. Hard to see your food.

The experience in itself was pleasant enough, but having read some of the other excitable reviews about it, I can't really see what the fuss is all about. I think I'd probably go there again, although an old favourite restaurant is also quite nearby. Overall, not earth-shattering, not bad, fairly pleasant, great value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We followed the tripadvisor advice and ate here with a couple of people the last night after our safari. We had booked a table for 6 and enjoyed the atmosphere already when we came in (almost felt like being in Italy or France).

The service was excellent and so was the food! Where else would you get a filet steak with great wine for round about 12EUR (130N$)?! Extremely good value for money!

Can only recommend this place strongly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, but not great..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went a couple of times to the restaurant recently. Liked it more the first time when we had a reservation and were seated efficiently. Service was very good. Food was also very good, but the menu lacks inspiration and creativity. Too much meat and not enough fish dishes. House wine was excellent.

Second time, went on the spot and didn't have a reservation. Took 15 minutes to get served at the bar (no-one seemed to be managing the guests) and then broiled away in the heat for another 30 minutes before the table arrived. Only upon asking the waiters to put the AC on, did they think of it and then the place cooled down. Perhaps a function of everyone being very busy on a full night, but the job of the manager is to stop and assess.

Will go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a very enjoyable meal at Stellenbosch, and the atmosphere, service and décor etc were great. (We sat inside as it was a Saturday night and we booked too late to get a table outside)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.