We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton windhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Windhoek

Save Saved
You added Hilton Windhoek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Windhoek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale From NAD 1557
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Windhoek
luderitz, Namibia
1 review
“Hilton windhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

excelent hotel. very friendly and helpfull staff and a very good price. they also gave us a nice special gift for our wedding aniversary when we checked in. i will definitely be booking at and recommmend the hilton again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am pleased to see you had a nice experience at our hotel.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future to our hotel.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    185
    77
    34
    15
See reviews for
47
114
31
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had reservations to stay in the Hilton but there was a labor strike so I was put in another hotel down the street. When I arrived in Windhoek I was notified that the strike was over and I was back in the Hilton. The hotel is beautiful and so was my room. My room was located on the 6th floor with a great view of the city. Everything in the room worked and I did not have any issues or problems with my accommodations. The staff was very friendly and polite. The hotel has an excellent breakfast buffet. I ate in the main restaurant three nights and the steaks and braised pork belly were excellent! On the 9th floor is a roof top bar call the sky bar. The views were wonderful and it is a great place to watch the sunset.

I am not sure if it is true or not but I charged one of my meals to my room and I let the waitress know I was leaving a tip on the room tab. She told me not to do that because the management takes ALL the tips that are left that way and on credit cards and divides them among all the waiters. If this is true, I am not happy because my tip is for the individual that waits on me...not those that did not provide me the service. I ended up bringing her cash the next day so she would get it.

Also, I had to pay N$185 ($18.50 US) per day (24 hours) for WiFi. This was crazy! Come on Hilton.

Room Tip: For views choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are pleased to see you came to the hotel once the industrial action was over.

We are also very pleased with the positive comments you have provided.

My apologies if the price for the Internet was not to your satisfaction.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a few days in this nice new hotel. The staff were friendly but u able to help when there was a problem. Our room was very noisy due to the water system but the staff continually ignored the request for a different room.

Internet is very slow and far too expensive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
My apologies for the noise you experienced and the lack of responds from our team members to move you to another room. If you would like to send me more details I can make a follow up regarding the room as well as the team on duty. My email is teun.engbers@hilton.com

With kind regards
Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hotel is stunning and so are the rooms. Service in Bar and Restaurants is terrible. Staff watching TV, or just plainly ignoring guests while waiting to be served. Nightclub on the same premises and music keeping you awake most of the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Director of Operations at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very m,uch for your feedback and positive comments about the hotel and rooms.

My apologies for your experience in our outlets and noise from the night club. I will share this with the team and we will follow up on these issues.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The only hotel in Namibia that I know that charges guests for WiFi. N$75 (US$7) per hour. When I complained to Reception, the staff said "We agree with you. WiFi should be free for guests". A tour operator standing next to me said that several of his clients had also complained. C'mon, Hilton, up your game!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Director of Operations at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is our company brand standard that Internet is charged for but we are in the process of implementing changes regarding the public areas.

My sincere apologies if this has effected your experience with us.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lovely surroundings, in a quiet part of the city, helpful staff, great food, fantastic rooms. Sky bar & roof top pool are a lovely addition. Mini bar is well priced so dont be shy. Executive lounge is as lovely scerene environment. And a nice place to meet fellow travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us at our hotel during your recent visit. Looking forward to Welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Check in was great. Aubry was warm, professional and exceeded my expectation when providing assistance with check-in, internet access, etc. I enjoyed the Roof Top bar and the lounge/bar on first floor. (Service is poor in both areas. Thankfully, I was relaxed and did not have high expectation). My dinner at first floor lounge/bar was yummy. Disappointments. - Noise in room. A guest in an adjacent room made a phone call in the foyer. I heard every word - the walls and doors are not thin. - Room service. I contacted House Keeping, Room Service and the Reception Desk for a bottle opener. I wanted to enjoy a drink from the mini bar but needed an opener. 30 minutes and several phone calls before I received bottle opener and then he wanted a tip. - I asked the Concierge to assist with a dinner reservation. They forgot. No reservation was made. - At check-out, my bill for the business meeting was ambiguous (staff struggled to discern bill) and included several errors. They argued amongst themselves and argued with me. It was a poor end to the trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Hilton Windhoek team thank you so much for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that Aubrey exceeded your expectations. Our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. I have shared your feedback with all the relevant Management so as to follow up on and ensure we deliver the service expected from us.

Kind regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Windhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.