We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Windhoek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Windhoek to your Saves list
Hilton Windhoek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“room service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice rooms,very spacious and good. The room service is slow and not up to standard. The rooftop bar is good for town view too. Avoid been mislead at the club. Advised to improve on service if they want clients to call again.

Room Tip: The Hotel is in the middle of town, rooms overlooking the western side may be advantageous for town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear tsk1957,

I have recently reviewed your feedback on our online tripadvisor page and noted that your expectations were not met on grounds of the service from Room Service and the Executive lounge, my apologies on behalf of the Hilton Windhoek Team for all inconveniences you may have experienced due to this. Thank you for your feedback and we will most certainly take your advice into consideration as we value all our guest feedback for our future growth and development.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any queries.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    245
    83
    40
    17
See reviews for
59
148
37
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hilton Windhoek

Hilton Windhoek is a relative new 9-floor building. It stucks out in Windhoek and is easy to find. The building and the rooms are modern and very good. The rooftop bar has a good view over Windhoek and a nice pool area too.

The service is slow. We had dinner and breakfast in the main restaurant and it was disappointing. They forgot our starters and where very slow.

We lived in a clubroom and the room was good but the service in the clubroom was terrible, with almost nothing to eat or drink – haven’t seen a cheaper club ever.

Conclusion: Nice building, very good rooftop bar. Avoid the club and the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Ingvar 20

Thank you very much for the great comments about our hotel, our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in the Executive lounge and restaurant on service level. I have shared your feedback with Management and their respective teams to follow up and rectify on, please feel free to contact me should you have any queries upon your future returns.

Regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've stayed here 3 or 4 times: The rooms are modern, clean and well laid out. The beds are perfect and make for a good nights sleep. The Skytop bar is great with wonderful views over the city. It's centrally located and pleasant. However, they need to be aware that standards need to be maintained in the competitive business travel market as I've noticed slippage since I've been staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Steve H

Thanking for sharing your experience with us and for the great comments about our hotel's facilities. Will most certainly ensure that we at the Hilton Windhoek make use of all advice shared with us by our guest to further improve on our service delivery and better meet your expectations upon your future returns.

Kindest regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It has an excellent location in town which for business is a plus. Its a new and modern hotel with very Nice rooms, pool at The top inklusive an outlook bar. All The service i recieved was friendly and helpfull. Had dinner at resturant which was fine and worth The money. For sure i will stay there next time

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Torben K

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel's facilities and service. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and indeed looking forward to Welcome you back soon to Hilton Windhoek.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in the hotel in the past 6 months and the standard has dropped. During this visit the complementary water in the room was discontinued without explanation. This is the first 4/5 star hotel I have stayed in over 29 countries that this has happened and is an obvious but petty cost saving device. I had problems with my final account and was subjected to a "take it or leave it" approach by the duty manager who obviously needs an interpersonal skills course. Disappointing performance overall

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms above the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ian S

I have recently reviewed your on-line feedback on our tripadvisor page, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We at the Hilton Windhoek always strive to meet our guest expectations and appreciate all feedbcak given to us as it allows us to improve on the service delivery and better meet your expectations upon your future returns to our Hotels. My sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit to our property, I have taken note of your comment on the complimentary water this is however as per our new Brand Standards.

Kindly advice on your final bill as you have stated that you were "subject to take it or leave it approach" and I can follow up on this for you, my email address is teun.engbers@hilton.com. My apologies once again for all the inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance in the future.

Kindest regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Value for money, clean rooms. Its situated in town. They have internet which you pay for but some social sites are blocked. They have a shuttle to and from the airport. They also have a restaurant which serves local and international menus and buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Herbert C

Thank you very much for the great comments about our hotels facilities and services. We are very pleased to note that you had a great stay with us on your recent visit to Namibia.

Looking forward to Welcome you back soon to Hilton Windhoek.

Kindest regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful, modern, quite, comfortable, clean rooms and very friendly, very helpful but startlingly inefficient staff. I recommend the hotel highly, just don't expect anything from reception to dining room to function very fast and you'll really enjoy this lovely, well-located (just a 5-minute walk to the centre of the city) hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Bennett G

We are indeed very pleased to note that you had a fantastic stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
Looking forward to Welcome you back soon to Hilton Windhoek.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Business Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Windhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.