We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Crossing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Crossing Lodge
Save
You added River Crossing Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   P O Box 97448, Windhoek, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on our last night in Namibia. It is very conveniently located for the airport, but not so much for the city centre. We didn't attempt to, but I don't think you'd be able to walk. Also finding the entrance off the main road can be a bit tricky, so drive slowly as you approach.

The main highlight for me was the absolutely stunning view when you first enter the reception. It's almost like being in Italy and overlooking valleys covered with vineyards. They had a number of people arriving for sunset just to enjoy a drink at the bar, not staying at the hotel. The have a nice pool on the terrace as well with the view.

Rooms were large and comfortable. Unfortunately there was a curious smell in our room from the drainage. But I know our friends in the other room didn't have that same problem and I'm sure it's fixed by now.

I think there are many b&b type places in Windhoek. This is definitely a boutique hotel rather than b&b.

Food was delicious. But similar to most places in Namibia, it was a fixed menu rather than a la carte.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
23
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited this lodge on a business trip for a couple of days, very beautiful setting. Staff need a bit more extra training, made quite a few mistakes with orders for the group. TV's in room only have three channels, one local and one international news channel. Lodge have great potential to be great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Convenient to airport and to Windhoek - a good place for your first or last night. A warm welcome, good food, relaxing atmosphere, great views and comfortable, well equipped chalets. Service is friendly, relaxed and efficient - very easy to feel "at home". Happy to make it my "gateway" on future trips. Just a word of advice - easy to miss if you drive too fast! Driving into Windhoek from airport it is on your left, just before the big railway bridge, look for the sign to the winery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On a recent trip to Namibia we spent two nights at River Crossing which is just outside of Windhoek center.
Quite a rough road to the hotel which is in a game park so all part of the experience.
Chalet was comfortable and had a modern bathroom which had good quality soaps etc.
Supper that night was excellent and service very friendly.
Next day we had a car service due in Windhoek. I must add that the service from Autohaus VW was outstanding!
On our way back from an extended trip to Caprivi Strip we again stayed at RC and had another happy experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This lodge is situated between the airport and the city centre of windhoek.
Only a few minutes drive to
Maerua mall. ( Checkers,Mr Price,...) Recommended restaurant nearby = Am Weinberg.
The chalets are modern and with all the comfort one needs. Difficult to get hot water out of the shower.Staff friendly but a little chaotic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location between the airport and windhoek makes it ideal for a busy or quick business trip - I have stayed there many times and have not been disappointed. The nights are unbelievably dark and quiet - only the occasional jackal call. The chalets are big with a modern bathroom, and quite warm enough in the chilly winters. The lodge can be a bit difficult to find - not well signposted from the main road. It does seem to lack a bit of soul - not sure why - but otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The chalets share one geyser per two rooms, so if you are in a room without the nearby geyser, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I run a lot of seminars all over the world, but this was probably my nicest seminar location ever. A real heaven. You wouldn't believe it's only a few minutes from Windhoek downtown, so it's really convenient for people to come up just for the day. Yet it has this atmosphere of being remote out in the bush, overlooking the city lights in the far distance, and this open vast sky over the rolling hills of Windhoek.
And the staff was amazingly friendly, went out of their way to accommodate any wish of ours whatsoever, no matter how special and complicated it was.
Lastly, the dinners were really delicious, what a treat! I can highly recommend it for seminars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Crossing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Crossing Lodge

Address: P O Box 97448, Windhoek, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Crossing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Crossing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.