We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haiku Sushi & Wine Bar

Haiku Sushi & Wine Bar
Auas City Hotel | Centaurus Road, Maerua Park, Windhoek, Namibia
+264 61 246 956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 82 Restaurants in Windhoek
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive, but nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We rate Haiku as very good only because of the delicious and exciting sushi served there. Perhaps the best in Windhoek. It comes at a price though, bordering very expensive. This eatery has no atmosphere or vibe to speak of and service is very average.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great sushi with great ambience. Service can be worked on. Seriously worked on.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sossusvlei, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and friendly staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Haiku is for sure the best sushi restaurant in Namibia and one of the best i have ever tried! Their menu is full of sushi rolls using different techniques and new ingredients! The atmosphere is lovely and we found the staff friednly and the management very helpful and dedicated! We highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Hardworking Staff, Horrible Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Our meal took 4 hours due to the poor management of the resturaunt. The manager prioritized local take outs while a full resturaunt awaited meals. Instead of limiting orders, the manager continued to push his chefs to make mounting orders to a growing room of hostile and hungry people. The staff was very apologetic and the chefs worked frantically without leaving the visible sushi bar the entire 4 hours we were there. What is worse, the manager cowered away while frustrated people verbalized their displeasure to the chefs and waiters. The sushi was good, especially the sashimi, but was forgetable due to the wait and uncomfortable environment created solely by the management.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haiku Sushi & Wine Bar also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Haiku Sushi & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haiku Sushi & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.