We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incapable of handling large group” 1 of 5 stars
Review of O Portuga

O Portuga
312 Sam Nujoma Avenue, Windhoek, Namibia
+264 61 272 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Windhoek
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: predominantly, but not exclusively fish
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incapable of handling large group”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were a group of 18 people and the staff there were incapable to handle large groups. Long story short, It took 2 hours for the food to come out after we ordered. When the food came out, they had no idea who ordered what. When they called out the names of the dishes they just said the name of the meats but since they make certain meats in different style some of us ended up getting wrong dishes. Two of us who sat beside each other ordered the exact same thing (kingklip with potatoes) but one of them got a dish with just the kingklip and no potatoes. So then we told them that it was missing potatoes and they had to bring the dish back into the kitchen again- and wait even longer for the food.
We all ate quickly because it got really late and we were all very tired by the time everyone got food. We took the bill and it was wrong as they have charged us the wrong drinks- so they had to redo the bill again.

Food wise they do have a large selection on the menu but they are not authentic Portuguese. Meats and fish tend to be over cooked and overly salted. Price of the food seem to be above average. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    68
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The restaurant was close to my office so I went often for lunch. I'd eaten there one evening and wasn't that impressed but a collague took me there for lunch and I tried the game (springbok or kudu) and it was excellent. After that I went back many more times and always found the food to be great. Necessary to make a reservation on any evening as per most restaurants in Windhoek.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An average Lunch - a little dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have always enjoyed the odd meal at O'Portuga, mainly because of the cosmopolitan feel and the not usual crowd of locals that frequent the same place over and over again. Normally I have a traditional dish - their calamari and fish dishes are good, the chicken perri-perri is excellent.
However this time round I ordered the calamari tubes - not the normal small tubes - these are typical Portuguese style, so they are large and more like a "steak". I had eaten these before and last time round they were delicious, this time round they were tough and not great, they were accompanied with chips which were a little overdone and quite oily.
I just hope that this is not the sign of things to come and they start to regress into complacency.
To quote another contributor " remember to ask for the "Gindungo" - a fiery home-made chili condiment" it is fantastic, they should bottle it and sell it.
Next time I will revert to the chicken!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“What you would expect in Maputo and not Windhoek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Situated in Klein Windhoek, on the road coming in from the airport. A good old fashioned portuguese restaurant, with a good variety on the menu and an extensive and well stocked bar. Also more locals and less tourists, which always excites me. Even though I do not smoke, I prefer the smoking section when the flaps are up, for a great European feel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is the ideal venue to share with good friends. It always has a good vibe, and maybe not the place for a quiet romantic evening. The menu has a wide range of authentic Portuguese/Angolan dishes - a remember to ask for the "Gindungo" - a fiery home-made chili condiment. My personal favorite is the seafood rice or seafood pasta - but be warned, it comes in decent portion sizes. Another favorite is the tripe in a tomato sauce, or the spice chicken livers or gizzards. Beef or seafood espetadas are also good, and the selection of fresh prawns (ask the waitress to show the different sizes before ordering).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Portuga also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to O Portuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Portuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.