We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okavango Guest House

Okavango Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okavango Guest House
Save
You added Okavango Guest House to your Saves list
Andimba Toivo Ya Toivo Street | Suiderhof, Windhoek 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 Windhoek B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Family Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Really enjoyed the hospitality.
Close walk to the main shopping mall in case you are looking for a movie or good food.
Works with Dial-a-meal as another option in case you dont want to leave the compfort of the guest house.
stayed there for a week with my family and we really felt at home.
Its easy to find, safe and really peacful.

Carlos Miranda

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that have the front view. You will enjoy the sunset, sunrise and wonderful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We hired Toyota Hilux 4x4 for 17 days. The car was in a very good condition (had only 16000km) and equipped with special offroad tires. Additinaly the car was supplied with a gps tracking devise which is good if you get lost in the area without mobile phone coverage - can happen in Namibia. We didn't have any issues during our trip (3600km) at all. Friendly stuff and airport pickup service. We got what we wanted and for a good price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in early February 2014. We would like to thank the Okavango Guest House for a very enjoyable stay in Windhoek. We make a booking on the day we arrived in Windhoek and we were easily accommodated.

Liesel must be specifically thanked for all her effort of making us feel welcome and attending to all our needs/requests!

We hope to be back soon, and will definitely stay here again when in Windhoek.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 7 and 8. They both have separate entrances, but also have inter leading doors tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are from SA and I sometimes travel with hubby to places he has to go to for business. I will recommend Okavango to anyone. Lisle who runs the place is so friendly, warm and very helpful and really a peoples person and caters to your every whim. Breakfast excellent and together with Natasha also a lovely person, (the owner) they were just great! Rooms nice and clean and very safe.
Thank you to the two of you for making us feel welcome, stay the way you are!
Yolanda

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We rented a hilux at Windhoek car rental on line from Madrid. The car was brand new, equipped with special tires and everything was perfect. Ricky went through the itinerary with us and gave us very useful advice.
The car was great, the price was reasonable and the attention, superb. We highly recommend this company.
Antonio.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The service and atmosphere was exceptional.Accomidation clean and everything required supplied. I would happily come back to stay here again. Close to the Mall reasonably close to the centre of town makes this venue good. They arranged everything for me from Shuttles to fetch m e at the airport to take away meals.

Room Tip: A wide variety of rooms are on offer. Take one away from the main road if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I hired a 4x4 Hilux with rooftop tent and camping gear from Okavango Car Hire in October 2012.

The car was brand new and was fitted with heavy-duty off-road tires, which gave us extra peace of mind when driving on Namibia's remote gravel roads. The rooftop tent was very simple to put up and down, and very comfortable to sleep in. The car was a joy to drive, and over the 3.5 weeks that we had it, we didn't have a single complaint.

I couldn't recommend Okavango Car Hire highly enough. Rudi and Johannes were extremely helpful and professional, explaining everything in detail - the workings of the car and camping gear, the do's and don'ts of driving around Namibia, and the fine print of the various insurance options. We set off on our journey feeling reassured, and were encouraged to call them any time if we had any problems (which we didn't). And value-for-money wise, they can't be beat.

On our return to Windhoek, we stayed for a couple of days at the co-located Okavango Guest House, which we also highly recommend - really comfortable room, nice breakfast, good internet connection, and nice pool with a view over the city.

If we are ever lucky enough to return to Namibia, we won't hesitate to return to Okavango Car Hire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okavango Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okavango Guest House

Address: Andimba Toivo Ya Toivo Street | Suiderhof, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Okavango Guest House is located at 124 Andimba Toivo Ya Toivo Street in Windhoek just 1 km from Maerua Mall, 3 Km from the Business Centre and 45 Km from Hosea Kutako Airport. There are comfortable double rooms including 2 rooms with corner bath & shower for the honeymooners. All rooms are en suite and equipped with fridge, safe, telephone, television plus tea and coffee making facilities while we also offer spacious 1 and 2 bedroom self-catering units.Wireless internet, faxing and secure on site parking is available. Okavango Guest House promises you a comfortable stay with professional & friendly service while we also offer 4x4 car hire facilities on the same premises. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okavango Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.