We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe's beerhouse/Desert Express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Beerhouse

Joe's Beerhouse
160 Nelson Mandela Ave, Windhoek, Namibia
264 61 23 2457
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Nightlife in Windhoek
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Joe's beerhouse/Desert Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On the last night of our 7 day train tour on the Desert Express (Windhoek to Swakopmund /return,we were taken to Joe's Beerhouse by coach, to enjoy the last night of our journey at the most wonderful pub I've ever been to !!
What a superb, sumptuous buffet;Kudu, Oryx, lamb, chicken, all roasted to succulent perfection, with veg/salad fit for Kings and Queens !!
The decor at Joe's Beerhouse amazing, ranging from an old car strung through the trees, to a magnificent Koi Pond, antique/rustic bric-a brac of all descriptions, ranging from wood carvings to bar seats refurbished from old toilet seats, which caused a good laugh !
It certainly provided a highlight on our 7 day train journey, with friendly efficient staff, a really entertaining place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    8
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High quality & delicious food, buzzing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped via Joe's for wine & med-rare Oryx fillet before catching the plane to Joberg. Food was delicious, high quality & cooked to perfection. Setting was clean, spacious & bathed in sunlight (NB: there are tables inside when the weather is poor). The restaurant & bar were packed with people - both locals and tourists. Service was impeccable - food arrived quickly so no problem with catching our flight.

Recommend to book a table at night.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“African German Experience at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Yes I mean it, African-German tastesare catered for by the wide variety on the menu. I had grilled Kingklip, then I also had pork neck on the other occasion both cooked to perfection. You must go there if in Namibia, Windhoek

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Homey food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For any Traveler coming to Namibia, Joe's Beerhouse is a must. The food is typical Namibian (like the Steak), but the Atmosphere is also TOTALLY like in the old Sout West Africa.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but super busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is very big but very busy as well. It is difficult to get the attention of the waiters because they have so many tables to cover, and the bar was packed. It is best to order your drinks and food at the same time.

I had the kudu steak with a mushroom sauce and it was good, along with some greens and fries. The portion was very generous and was just about to burst after finishing the steak (i couldn't finish the fries).

Price is not cheap, but food is decent. Be prepared to wait for your food and service, so better to arrive when you're not too hungry.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Beerhouse also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Joe's Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Beerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.