We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Beerhouse

Joe's Beerhouse
160 Nelson Mandela Ave, Windhoek, Namibia
264 61 23 2457
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Windhoek
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I visited Joe’s on our last evening in Windhoek in August 2012 and had a wonderful time. We shared an Eisbein which was very tasty and cooked to perfection. We also got to share a table with 2 people from the USA that we had never met before and this just added to the pleasant atmosphere. While the meal itself was a little pricey, the food was good and the time spent meeting new people was a definite plus. There are probably other places in Windhoek that offer better quality food, better value for money and smarter decor; but Joe’s is an experience not to be missed – even if you only go once.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    54
    10
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best place to be in Windhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have been in Joe's Beerhouse in our first night in Windhoek and it is absolutely outstanding!
Food is great, had a full meal with starter, main course and dessert, which was really delicious. The place is looking nice, arranged with local furnishings and very big.
Price is very valuable for what you get.
If you stay in Windhoek, this is the place to be!
Therefore we have arranged to stay another night in Windhoek prior to our departure to get the chance to have dinner at Joe's again.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Joe's is by far the COOLEST bar I've ever been to. Great service, really cosy feel and very friendly staff. Food was exceptional, though was a bit upset as they didn't have croc or zebra on our first visit (at the start of our trip) and then on our second visit a few weeks later, they didn't have any again. (This was 2011, so might've changed menu etc since then). All in all we had a very enjoyable few nights, the atmosphere is fantastic. If you have a flight the next day then I would recommend staying away from Stroh rum, which the bartenders conveniently changed the name of each time we went to the bar so we'd order another. haha.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Joe’s beerhouse, a legendary & unique slice of Namibian hospitality & cuisine, offers a wide range of local yet exotic flair & sumptuous meals to satisfy even the most conservative to experimental palates. :) And a Windhoek Draught is a must have

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not hot!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Went to the famed Joe's last night dissapointing food and service, Ran out of food items and no freshly baked bread! A pity as everyone recommended it as a must do dining experience definitely below average.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Beerhouse also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Joe's Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Beerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.