We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Game viewing made easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etosha National Park

Etosha National Park
Namibia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$908*
and up
Ranked #3 of 76 Attractions in Namibia
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Game viewing made easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Game viewing made easy. Just hang out at the waterholes and watch the animals. Make sure to visit in the dry season though. Definitely drive out to the etosha lookout on the former lake. Surreal! The NWR camps in the park are the only ones inside the park area but don't expect much. If you want some atmosphere, stay outside the park in a private lodge

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    54
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is for those travelers who love adventure and fresh air as well. The scenery is beautiful and the staff there are helpful and friendly and kind too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
2,360 helpful votes 2,360 helpful votes
“You Can't Go to Namibia and Not Go to Etosha!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've been to Kruger and the Great Migration in Kenya but this was the best safari we've had even though we only saw one of the Big 5. Nevertheless, we felt that the layout of the Park and the waterholes at this park were far superior to the other parks, just based on the number of animals they seem to attract. There was never a time when we went to a waterhole and there wasn't an abundance of animals trying to get a drink. Highly recommend a visit. You can't go to Namibia and not visit Etosha!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A very good park for game, but take care!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I really rate Etosha for its size and the variety of animals. It's an absolute must if you are serious about seeing wild animals on your trip to Namibia. The fact you can drive your own vehicle around the extensive network of roads is a bonus. You never feel the need to go off-road, as everything can be seen from the road. Other tourists are helpful in pointing out animals.

It's worth staying inside the park. Although all the NWR camps have their issues, you benefit from the saving in time, the ability to get to waterholes early and late, and the option of night drives. We stayed two nights at each of three camps. In retrospect, I think five nights would have been perfect and I would advise staying at at least two different camps.

The roads are all unmade. Most are good, some are rough and there is the odd large hole. You need to take care. Signs are barely adequate. Make sure you have a decent map. Take care late in the afternoon, when vehicles race back to the camp before the gates shut. There are some toilets and picnic sites within the park itself. Some are enclosed, while others are completely open! Pray you don't break down or have a puncture. If you do, I hope it's on a main road, where you might get help.

Despite all my warnings, I give it five. If it had no issues, I'd rate it six or even seven!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Bay; East London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Etosha is a little unique and a must for visitors to Namiba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We recently enjoyed our second visit to Etosha. It is perhaps a little far from everything but Etosha should nevertheless be included into one's schedule when touring Namibia - a dry land made up of vast distances. Etosha has three main camps; Okuakuejo (our favourite); Namutoni and Halali. One can camp or enjoy chalet style accommodation to suite your personal budget.
Don't expect to see animals around every corner, particularly in winter when they gather around the many waterholes. While you drive, take a note of the different environment which is made of grassed desert-dunes and large grassed savannah interspersed with areas treed areas. Etosha is particularly during the South African school holidays and advance booking is essential. I recommend spring and autumn as the two best times for a visit, particularly if you are a bird lover. The heat in mid-summer and the cold in mid-winter can be a little harsh.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etosha National Park also viewed

Etosha National Park, Oshikoto Region
Namib-Naukluft Park, Khomas Region
 
Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
 

Been to Etosha National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etosha National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.