We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great until we got ripped off :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tan-'n-Biki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tan-'n-Biki
Save
You added Tan-'n-Biki to your Saves list
Macenta, Maputo, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Was great until we got ripped off :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall it's a nice place, but you get totally ripped off for launching jet ski's or boats, they tell you one price but when they have finished taking them out they give you another more expensive amount to pay. This is totally in bad taste. Hope management knows that their staff is doing this to their guests.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We went to this resort in December 2011, our first trip out of the country. I must say that it was the worst experience of our lives, and it cost us a fortune to boot! No friendlly welcome, inflated prices, dirty pool, annoying quad bikes, no electricity, and by the way you can buy an oil lamp for R75 (paying R1550 a night for a luxury chalet), no 4 x 4 needed but if your 4 x 4 gets stuck anywhere on site, they will only charge you R170 to get you out, oh hell, I can go on and on! Sadly and probably unfairly, we will never ever return to Mozambique again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We went to Tan n biki in December 2011. This was our first trip to Mozambique and we were so very excited!! First of all the road from Maputo to Maraceune, where you take the ferry, is in one word a NIGHTMARE!!!! Traffic rules does not apply to the local people and I would rather drive in Johannesburg a hundred times, than on this road again. The ferry was not bad, but we did'nt enjoy the ride. The gravel road from the ferry to the camp in not bad and our 4x4 bakkie had no problem with this road. On arrival at the reception, I was not even greeted properly never mind introduced to the management. We figured out for ourselves who was who around there. The chalet was not what we expected, but we realised that this is "Africa", so we descided to accept it as it was. The outside kitchen, with everything, groceries included, standing outside, was not to my satisfaction. I saw that some of the other chalets kitchens had cupboards, but not our unit. Okay, so we descided to just relax and enjoy "Africa", then the power failures started, anything from 1 to 4 failures per day/night, while management had a generator, so they were comfortable, we had to buy candles to have some light. As you all know, temperatures in Mozambique, especially in December, is no joke, so to have no electricity and no fans, was really not very funny. I feel that from managements side they should at least provide lamps/candles, seeing that power failures is apparently a normal thing around these parts. We feel that we pay lots of money for accomodation, and then they cannot even provide a basic need like electricity . I agree, some off the staff members were friendly and helpfull, but the majority of them couldn't even understand english, so communication with the cleaning staff was non-existend. Then the amount of "lounger chairs" at the pool area were a joke, especially in December, with a fully booked camp. It was a matter of "spot a available lounger and win a Uno". I must say the restaurant, on site, was acceptable, when they had electricity to prepare the food. We ate there a few times, and I can honestly say, that the food was fresh and well prepared. Then there was the matter of quad bikes. Some of the other guests had their personal quads. The kids were allowed to ride freely in the resort, which was very irritating because of the noise. I can understand that they are also on holiday and enjoying themselves, but with no consideration towards the other guests. I feel that management should have rules and regulations in place with a designated area for quad bikes. Then the other thing that was very poor, was the fact that they had no credit/debit card facilities, at least not working ones. We feel that they should be able to accomodate the guests with such a service, seeing that lots of guests are from RSA or even other countries. We were not enjoying our stay so we descided to leave one day earlier, and only on our departure did I see the owner of the resort, and I would not describe him as "friendly". I believe that this resort has a lot of potential, but at the present moment there is a lot of issues that should be addressed by management to ensure that ALL their guests will give them a good review. We are sorry to say, but we will NOT recommend this resort to any of our friend or family and this resort will also NEVER EVER EVER see us again. We don't mean to be rude, but this is our opinion based on our personal experience and we are entitle to it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We where there over December 2011 and could not find anything wrong. It was everything we expected and more.
Betsie and her crew wen't out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They even baked a bday cake for my daughter while they had to get ready for a wedding.
I just want to thank Betsie and Lester for a great time and see you again this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

We booked the room in advance so the resort should have known we were coming, but from the moment we've arrived the management looked as if they were trying to be champions at ignoring us and make us feel unwelcome. The house we booked is nicely situated in the dunes and gives stunning views on the sea. The house was big, clean and had comfortable beds. The first night we stayed the electricity went off and stayed off for at least 3 hours. We had to go to reception ourselves to ask for a solution, which wasn't given by the management. They made us buy candles and an oil lamp, so at least we had some light. The management itself had electricity coming from a generator so they could watch football on their big tv screen.
We've experienced some bad encounters with the owners dogs as they've been clearly tought to be aggressive against the coloured/black staff working at the resort. This really gave us a bad feeling. All together: tan-n-biki would be the ideal place to stay if it weren't for the bad and uninterested management. So don't go there as long it's been run by the same management!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

Very unfriendly management. They claimed that we broke glasses which we definitely did not! Then they made us pay for these glasses in a very unrespectful and unreasonable manner: I still cant believe it that this happened but they called the ferry not to take us if we wouldn't pay these glasses. It was a very unconvenient experience. Dont let it happen to you, choose another place there are lots of nice places.    

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

A classic example of a wonderful accommodation,but with the most unfriendly staff and management you'll find. We felt treated like we were a major nuisance for staff and especially management. Every question was difficult or unanswerable, working out our invoice was difficult and took forever for management. There were no functioning credit card facilities. Electricity was out more than a day, which happens in Mozambique, but no candles or lamps were provided. A generator is available on site, but only connected to the TV-screen of the manager, we had to beg for the water pump to be turned on so we could at least have cold shower.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan-'n-Biki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-'n-Biki

Address: Macenta, Maputo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Tan-`n-Biki Hotel Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan-'n-Biki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.