We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Force to be reckoned with!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polana Serena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Polana Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Polana Serena Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Julius Nyerere 1380, Maputo 00100, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Maputo
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Force to be reckoned with!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was a guest at the Polana Serena Hotel for a week, covering a business event and I warmly recommend the hotel as one of the best five star hotels in Mozambique! Aside of the amazing venue of the hotel and its facilities, the service was impeccable! There was always someone next to me to make sure that my stay is as enjoyable as possible. The kindness and positive energy of the staff just raised the bar even higher...I am grateful to have met such wonderful people that were there for me every step of the way and I am thankful for the special attention and treatment I got during my stay at the Polana Serena Hotel. I felt like a royalty!
This hotel set an example of how a five star hotel should treat their guests and I have no doubt that their services are a force to be reckoned with in Mozambique.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear KetrinsD,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We are very happy to know you had a very good experience at Polana Serena Hotel.Thank you for your words about our Team attitude .I will share your comment with all the Team, I am sure they will be happy to read your words.

Thank you once again for writing about your experience at the Hotel .

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    106
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
29
58
21
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed in Polana Serena Hotel for a night in December. The hotel proved luxorious in a far more charming way than most five-star hotels that I've gotten to visit.
We were very happy with the breakfast and dinner. Lots of choices and the staff was fun and caring.
Most of all, the atmosphere was simply exceptional. In the evening, they were playing Out Of Africa on a large canvas by the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reetta M,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We are very happy to know you had a very good experience at Polana Serena Hotel. I will share your comment with all the Team, I am sure they will be happy to read your words.

Thank you once again for writing about your experience at the Hotel .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sondrio, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I believe that the pictures talk for themselves: Murky pool water, ripped umbrellas ( also insufficient for the number of people present on a hot summers day) filthy flooring, dirty pool beds (some with bird droppings). A number of people complained but management was no where to be found. This is really disappointing for what is meant to be a five star hotel. A few weeks back on a sunday they where cutting the grass with a diesel run grass cutter blowing smoke over all the pool area. Maybe a few years ago this could have passed in Maputo, but with the growing choice of new hotel popping up all around town, the Polana really cannot afford to drop so low.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Federica,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

On behalf of all the Team I would like to apologize and explain the reason why.

We had a technical problem during a couple of days with the pump, that we just managed to solve Monday, to add we had severe weather with strong winds and heavy rain that destroyed what it was left from our umbrellas two days before. We expect the new umbrellas to be in place maximum 2 weeks.

We should have blocked the pool during the weekend, what we did 2 days after to do a shock treatment but due to high temperatures during the weekend we did not.

We are not happy for having provided the service like we did, and its not our standard .

Thank you once again for writing about your experience at the Hotel .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I'm an airline crew. As part of my job, i'm deemed to traveling a lot and I've stayed in about just more than a handful hotels in Africa, Europe, Middle East and Far East. same hotels repeatedly, of all the hotels i have stayed in this one excelled in staffs displaying fine gesture displaying (very friendly ) and relentlessly delivering uniform quality in facilities, rooms and food. Nice swimming pool, beautiful garden and nice view to the Indian ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We are very happy to know you had a very good experience at Polana Serena Hotel. I will share your comment with all the Team, I am sure they will be happy to read your words.

Thank you once again for writing about your experience at the Hotel .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I did not know what to expect in Maputo. I heard about this hotel as the oldest and most respected. I was pleasantly surprised. The Portuguese architecture, the antiques, luxurious setting all gave me a wonderful sense of history. Very few hotels have this charm.

Service was a bit slow, as was the internet connection, but otherwise a good choice for a business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Ms. Sarah A,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We are very happy to know you had a very good experience at Polana Serena Hotel. I will share your comment with all the Team, I am sure they will be happy to read your words. We took notice about your comment on speed service and internet.

Thank you once again for writing about your experience at the Hotel .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having spent more than a weekend in Maputo I landed at the Polana before heading to a more definitive place to stay and my impressions were...Great! From the arrival the nice attitude of the team in welcoming and smiling, to the well appointed room with a soft African soul despite the comfort and amenities. It has a great location overlooking the Indian Ocean with lots of outdoor gardened areas and a sun terrace around the pool that turned a must at the end of each day. The breakfast is full of all you may expect and the tips to have dinner out were always a good hit. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask a pool/sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It is well appointed right on one of the main avenues facing the sea with an absolutely clear view( save a construction crane marring it all). Looks and feels majestic and with ample colonial charm. The seafood buffet mixed with the breakfast spread is awesome. Spent a full 4 hours enjoying the restaurant.

Room Tip: Take the northeast rooms .. they have the best view and quitter as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We are very happy to know you had a very good experience at Polana Serena Hotel. I will share your comment with all the Team, I am sure they will be happy to read your words.


Thank you once again for writing about your experience at the Hotel .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polana Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polana Serena Hotel

Address: Avenida Julius Nyerere 1380, Maputo 00100, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Polana Serena Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “Grand Dame” of Africa, as the Polana Serena Hotel is widely known, is a must-see historical landmark when talking about the city of Maputo. The elegance and splendour of its façade are the living memory of bygone colonial times; its luxurious interiors whisper stories of the many generations who spent nights protected by the hotel’s majestic walls, kings and queens, ambassadors and presidents, princesses and common travellers; its gardens, perfect and romantic lookouts offer a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean.Built in 1922 in the heart of Maputo, one of the most exclusive residential areas, the Polana Serena Hotel belongs to the elite of the most famous hotels in the world. The splendor of its colonial lines blend tradition and art, making your stay an unforgettable journey through the past, looking to the future. Faithfull to the Serena Group philosophy of integrating architecture with cultural heritage, the Polana Serena Hotel offers a mix of elegance, grandeur and ethnicity, in a space equipped with the most modern solutions, luxurious facilities and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Polana Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polana Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.