We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but staff could be more customer focused” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avenida to your Saves list
Hotel Avenida
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Maputo
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but staff could be more customer focused”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about two months. Its location is convenient, with a number of good restaurants next door. Overall the hotel is clean and professionally managed. There was a water leak in the ceiling of the corridor outside my room the whole time I was there; I was a bit surprised they never fixed it. Instead they just put a bucket there to collect the water.

Since there are restaurants next doors, other than breakfast I only ate at the hotel once. I had a sandwich which was OK but overpriced. The breakfast buffet is great, but I noticed how the staff informed another guest that you are not allowed to take photos of the breakfast. Don't ask me why.

The gym is quite good for a hotel, with friendly staff who will volunteer as your personal trainer pending the number of guests. I never tried the swimming pool, but it is small so if you come to Maputo to swim you may consider staying at another hotel (e.g. Polana or Indy Village).

The roof top gives you a great view of Maputo; worth visiting even for non-hotel guests.

The staff at the reception are nice, but are not too service minded. First they asked me to pay for my whole hotel stay when checking in, which is quite unusual. I have no idea what would happen if I’d paid and then decide to move out prior to the reserved time. Anyway, since I was staying for such a long period of time they said a preauthorization would suffice (!)

After a first few weeks I was asked to pay for the days I had spent at the hotel. Fair enough. However, I asked to continuously pay for my stay in tranches since I was using a debit card with a purchase limit of $5,000 per day, meaning I would not be able to pay for the entire stay when checking out. But for some weird reason the reception staff always found an excuse not to process my payments. During my last week at the hotel I returned to the reception every day to pay – explaining my situation – but they always asked me to come back the next day (either the system was down, was being restarted, the manager was not there, etc.). So, of course, when checking out I could not pay. Luckily I had transferred money to another account, meaning I could use another debit card for half of the sum.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    55
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
3
3
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It seems like I visit this hotel once a year. This is not the third year that I have visited the hotel and it is still very nice. The rooms are clean and well maintained. In the bathroom have individual water heaters so hot water is no issue. Breakfast is very well stocked and you will find fruit, cold meats, smoked salmon and the usual warm food (sausages, eggs, potatoes, bacon,..). Reception was friendly and helpful even though there was a problem with my booking that I made via hotels.com. But within 5 minutes that was sorted out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

When booking through the internet - beware!! The quoted price - although high - looks reasonable for a 5 star hotel. When payment is required, an additional $50.00 per day is added on for "taxes". Although classed as a 5 star hotel, there is no courtesy bus between the hotel and the airport. There is a shuttle bus which will cost you 660.00MT in each direction (A taxi will cost you 500.00MT). Furthermore, internet in the hotel is only free for a limited period. A 2 night stay allows for 8 hours of internet before payment is required.
Rooms are adequate and the restaurant/bar area is virtually deserted as the prices are extremely high and the hotel is right next door to Mundos which provides food, drink and sport on TV for a fraction of the prices being charged by The Avenida.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The pros : central location downtown Maputo, nice and efficient staff for check in, good rooms, very large buffet for breakfast.

The cons : airport transfer not well coordinated, entrance in the hotel not easy when arriving by car due to the lack of space on the street, Internet a bit slow.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location. Hotel is very neat and tidy. Lobby is fantastic to relax and meet people. Staff is nice and helpful. Break fast is ok.
Good choice for business trips and stay... Centrally located in main avenue. Rooms are big enough, there is wi fi but very slow connection!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I often travel to Maputo for work. And have previous stayed at the Southern Sun. This trip I was convinecd by colleagues to stay at the Avenida because of its great location with close proximity to other restaurants and our offices.

I really, really regret this decision because of the horrible customer service:

1) My flight into Johannesburg was delayed and I missed my connection to Maputo. I immediately called the hotel to inform of this and when i arrived the next day they would not let me check-in to the hotel unless I payed for the night that I did not use! I had no other choice, given the scarcity of hotel rooms in Maputo and they were very rude about this request.

2) Despite advertising free wi-fi, it is not free! The wifi is both slow and expensive and you are only allowed to have one computer logged in at a time so it often would not allow me use my work laptop and my ipad or phone on the wifi. This software was very outdated and was not very user friendly despite the expense of the internet.

3) The breakfast was not included in my room rate. This maybe specific to the way our company haggles for room prices, but honestly the southern sun has nicer rooms, better service, free wifi and breakfast all for the same price.

The southern sun is more than worth the 5-10 minute longer commute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here for a meeting and contrary to other rviewers found it a very good hotel.
My room was spacious and well equipped although I didn't get a sea view. The bathroom was clean and came complete with all amenities I could ever want- toothbrush, comb, shaving kit as well as all usuals!
The service was fast at receptions and room service was spot on.
Breakfast and lunch buffets were good- excellent papaya and pineapple, great custard tarts and salads.
The location is central for business but I think if I was here on holiday I would chose to stay on the coast however it is only a short walk from the hotel to the sea front but thats not what you may want on a holiday.
All in all a good stay! It is quite expensive but so if the whole of Maputo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 5 star Avenida Hotel, you have 159 fully equipped luxury Rooms, of which 7 are Suites and one Presidential Suite. Every Room is equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, Air-conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, Internet, and many other details that will surely make for a very pleasant stay, including our Health Club, so that, even when on vacation, you can keep fit. At your disposal there's a Swimming-pool and a Panoramic Bar, and you can enjoy the local and international specialities at our luxury Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.