We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel getting tired...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avenida to your Saves list
Hotel Avenida
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Maputo
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel getting tired...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Avenida is a well designed hotel in the middle of the city centre, very well positioned on a busy street next to a popular cosmopolitan restaurant joint where the young and jazzy meet. The hotel lobby is modern and well designed with generous uses of marble and carpeting is used towards the bar and lounge area.

The rooms are well appointed but have started to show the tired side of over use. A makeover would return this hotel to an attractive destination.

Room Tip: Find out if the rooms have been updated with a makeover to ensure a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
3
3
10
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pemba, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location is great. Good hotel for overnight or for business travelers. Very modern feeling. I would not advise for holiday makers. Close to Mundos for entertainment and food.The rooms are clean and neat. Bar and dinning area is very formal and lack atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My hotel room as well as the reception and cafe were modern and comfortable. All very impressive considering we were in Mozambique. Gym was also suitable although pool was small to go for laps. And they leave muffins/croissants for very early morning travelers who miss the breakfast. A couple of downsides - bathroom was a bit too small; felt cramped. Credit card acceptability was sketchy which was a bit of a hassle (in the end my card was accepted - just that some of the terminals were acting up). And I felt it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good: The establishment has fine finishes (decor/furniture) and is centrally located. The interior of the hotel is an excellent contrast to the dusty busy street it's on.

Bad: 1. The staff seem aloof because they only speak Portuguese, and almost no English at all. Tough communication even when using my Portuguese phrase book. 2. I had to pretend to be a business traveler to be taken seriously when I had queries, otherwise I was ignored. 3. Our room was on a lower floor, so our view was the dilapidated buildings in front of us. 4. For a leisure traveler, the hotel atmosphere is too cold and business-like. Next time I'll go to the Southern Sun hotel just down the road, at which we had sundowners with a magnificent view of the ocean. 5. There were many extra charges for stuff we would ordinarily consider complimentary (e.g. wifi).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Avenida tries to emphasize as much as they can that it's a five star, luxury hotel, and because of setting that expectation it seems to dissapoint. The rooms are spacious and the bed is good and overall the hotel looks in decent shape with a good gym, however at no point you would give it five stars. To take a shower you still need to stand in your bathtub and hot water runs out quickly. Wifi is expensive and goes with vouchers, only enabling you to connect one device at a time. Staff is a tad arrogant which doesn't help the "five star" experience. Location is good, in the middle of the city with lots of restaurants close by. No real value for money though as it's way too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My first trip to Maputo so never sure of the hotel standard but this was very decent - rooms comfortable, clean, good temperature control. The staff were very courteous and helpful, internet worked fine in the room, breakfast was decent.

Overall can recommend although it is quite expensive, it's quite a bit cheaper than the Serena and it is a very adequate hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed at the Avenida for six nights for business. It was a nice hotel, with a nice room. All the amenities you could want. The location is nice - close to a number of restaurants and a small shopping center, and not too far from the craft market. While the people who worked there were very nice, they tended not to do what they said they would. I had to talk to the front desk three times to get a confirmed late check out. But other than small frustrations like that, it was OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Costumer
On behalf of Avenida Hotel, thank you for your comment because it´s very useful to have feedback from our customers so that we can implement and improve our service.
We hope your visit again in the Avenida Hotel
Waiting for welcome you in the next future

Best Regards
Rui Viegas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 5 star Avenida Hotel, you have 159 fully equipped luxury Rooms, of which 7 are Suites and one Presidential Suite. Every Room is equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, Air-conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, Internet, and many other details that will surely make for a very pleasant stay, including our Health Club, so that, even when on vacation, you can keep fit. At your disposal there's a Swimming-pool and a Panoramic Bar, and you can enjoy the local and international specialities at our luxury Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.