We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and well run guest house in Maputo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeiras Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmeiras Guest House
Save
You added Palmeiras Guest House to your Saves list
Av. Patrice Lumumba, 948, Maputo 1619, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Maputo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and well run guest house in Maputo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at the Palmeiras for a week in May 2012 and can highly recommend. The rooms are of a good size and kept spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom, clean towels, tolietries etc. As others have said the breakfast is great - and sitting out in the small courtyard with the sound of water splashing from the little fountain was a lovely, relaxing way to start the day in Maputo. All the staff were helpful and very friendly. Accommodation is expensive in Maputo, but Palmeiras offers good value for money for anyone who needs a quiet and clean room in the city, and does not need the other services available in a 'hotel'. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
20
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Palmeiras was recommended to me by a friend, and I wasn't disappointed. The guesthouse has security guard on duty 24hrs a day, with friendly staff and owners. Included in the accommodation price is breakfast - pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and tea. The rooms are clean and tidy, with satellite tv (refreshments available for purchase at the guesthouse).

Town centre, as well as other landmark buildings and sights are in walking distance - it is however some distance away from the beach.

All in all, a good stay, and I will definitely return in future.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at this guesthouse on the night we had just sailed back from Inhaca Island. We checked in later than we originally said we would and it was long after dark, but we were still accommodated, even tough the rooms were in high demand. Celia, the owner of the place, is beautifully gracious and went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. She even sat with us for a while, at our request, to tell us about the history of the city and where the sights and attractions were.
The breakfast was a lovely buffet and you can eat out in a charming little garden at the back. This truly was an oasis of peace in this otherwise hot and somewhat chaotic city (especially downtown by the train station).
If I had to mention one negative, its that even though there is mosquito netting on the windows, when we got there the windows had been open during the day to air the room, but somehow the netting didn’t work and there were 2 or 3 mosquitos that bit us pretty good thoughout the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Maputo was the first stop on our Mozambique trip. We found the guesthouse really easily thanks to their directions, and secure parking was available for our car. Security was very strong, with a guard always on duty on the gate.

The location was excellent, within walking distance of most of the sites in the Baixa area, as well as the more upmarket Polana area - we spent most of our 2 days walking all over the city.

The room was very comfortable, and the most modern of any of the places we stayed in the country. Breakfast was fantastic - lots of fresh pastries and great coffee, and could be eaten in the garden courtyard.

As has been said before - not much English is spoken, but this didn't cause us any problems during our stay. Also, be sure to bring US dollars to pay the bill - as for some reason, people paying in Meticais seemed to pay a higher rate..?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Good location central and safe an with stunning breakfast. The owner is very helpful and gives above average advice... payment a bit complicated no credit cards

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed one night in this guest house, we got a nice, clean and comfortable room with ensuite bathroom. Allthough this is only a small place, the breakfast was one of the best we ever had! Not just the standard breakfast ingredients you usually get, but some fresh made or baked homemade pastries and jams! Breakfast-to-go can be arranged for.
There is a minibar available for everyone, just write down what you've used.
Only drawback for the guesthouse: the owner and only 1 member of the staff spoke english, the rest of them just portuguese.
They can book you a "shuttle" to get to Maxixe, Inhambane and Tofo, but be aware of the fact that this means a taxi will bring you and guests from another place (Fatima's Nest) to the local bus stand, where you board, indeed, the local bus. Uncomfortable, but fantastic experience! 11 hours in a 20-seater bus with 30 passengers :-)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I recently stayed at Palmeiras and it's a cute place, clean enough and secure. Security staff was nice, cute garden out the back, but the rooms are run down and in need of an uplift (carpets, towels, sheets, etc). Please be aware that they quote you in USD, and if you don't have USD upon arrival, they will charge you an additional 20% to pay in metical or rand. I got really annoyed with this and the receptionist decided to ignore me, until I called the owner and she agreed to give me the proper rate. In the guest book, I saw another customer had also complained about this. So either travel with USD or agree a rate in metical prior to arrival. It's also the type of place you need your own car for as it's not that near any restaurants or attractions tourists would want to see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmeiras Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeiras Guest House

Address: Av. Patrice Lumumba, 948, Maputo 1619, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new place offering you personalized attention, familiar surroundings and a hearty welcome in Maputo City, at Patrice Lumumba Avenue Nr. 948. The Palmeiras Guest House offers to our clients 6 rooms all with TV Cable with 20 channels, AC, telephone, fax and e-mail & internet facilities available on request, 24 hours security service, laundry service, continental breakfast, and mini bar service. Our price for accommodation includes Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmeiras Guest House Hotel Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmeiras Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.