We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how to practice ZEN” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cardoso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cardoso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cardoso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Martires de Moeda 707, Maputo, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Maputo
FVG
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“how to practice ZEN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

a classic standard hotel, I'm sure that you could easily find better solution in Maputo.
The people at front desk are willing to help but more than often witha reaction time which could strongly influence your Zen practice ( even if you don't use zen). I have had a problem of lost luggage at the airport and they said me the hotel could handle it but in fact they couldn't, or, at least, at european speed.. . Exchanging money has always been a problem, most of the time the local currency was unavailable
Breakfast is really well prepared and you can enjoy it on a beautiful terrace. Rooms are "essential" with a subtle note of dusty and damp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear PaolaA

Many thanks for submitting your comments to TripAdvisor.

I do empathize with your lost luggage problem but whilst the hotel will provide all the assistance it can ; one needs to understand that lost luggage is really an issue between the passenger and the airline. Hopefully you managed to get your suitcases back.

Kind regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    86
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
24
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Th Cardoso is well located with a great view over downtown Maputo. The hotel unfortunately doesn't really maximise on the view by having above average amenities. The lobby is rather bland and uninspiring and the rooms are much the same. This is the only hotel I have ever come across where the towels provided are navy blue. Yes, navy blue! I wonder... The bathrooms need an overhaul to become more acceptable.

The hotel is very noisy in the parts where the floors are not carpeted, close to the lift lobby.

The pool is small and intimate.

Thankfully WiFi is provided on a complimentary basis

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the lift lobby should be quieter; other than this there is quite a bit of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Kalabashzee

Thank you for taking the time to submit your opinion. The hotel has recently been upgraded and whilst not everybody enjoys the new decor I can thankfully reveal that your opinion of the lobby is the minority view. Our pool has never been described as small and intimate as it is the largest hotel pool in Maputo , but I hope you managed to have a refreshing swim anyway.

Thanks again for taking time to submit an opinion.

Best regards

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. The sunsets are excellent here and the location is very good. I enjoy the breakfast here and internet is included. They have a couple of restaurant choices within, but I opted to eat downtown. Try to make sure to get a room that faces the cliff/sea. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear SIAMAC M

Many thanks for posting your comments to TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that on your next visit to Maputo we will remain your accommodation service provider of choice

Eugenio Dos Santos
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Take care when arranging additional services not related to room rates, ask for a writen quote as the staff don't admit to not understanding english-we found ourselves paying 10 times more than expected. The staff thought it a joke, laughed and management insisted on the rate - this left a sour taste on an otherwise pleasant stay. Be aware of petty crime in the hotel parking.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view is well worth the small fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear AR M

Many thanks for taking the time to send your opinion to TripAdvisor. I do apologize for our staff seeming indifferent to your concerns. I believe the telephone charges were in dispute and I can understand your surprise at the cost. Many people don’t realize that the costs of running a full PABX are really what make hotel calls expensive and unfortunately there is not a lot of wriggle room in call pricing. Having said that we do advertise our charges in the Entertainment guide in the bedroom.

I am glad that overall your experience was a good one and I hope that you will return to us well into the future

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Having stayed at all of the major hotels in town, this must rank as the best value for money hotel in Maputo. It does everything well at a very fair price.
Airport collection was pre-booked and on time. The drivers were courteous and the vehicle clean. Check in was easy and there were enough staff to handle 3 people simultaneously.
The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds of a good quality. Workspace was adequate with complimentary wireless (a bit slow), good range of TV channels, and the bathroom and amenities were good - lots of hot water, decent towels, basic soaps.
The bar staff were friendly and quick in their service and the drinks were not too badly priced.
The highlight though was the restaurant. I found the buffet to be up there with the best in town. A good choice of fresh ingredients, great live grilling station, clean environment etc, all made this an easy choice when deciding to eat in or out.
Check out was a bit slow due to the early morning rush (check out the night before if you can), but nothing too hectic and the front office did apologise.
Overall, this will now be the hotel of choice when visiting Maputo.

Room Tip: Sea facing south side halfway down the corridor on level 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear BizFish

We really appreciate you taking the trouble to review us on TripAsdvisor. Its sounds like you had a fantastic stay and consequently we are delighted. Our staff feel enormous pride for their hotel and it feels wonderful when guests recognize that . Thanks once again and I hope we remain your hotel of choice in Maputo for years to come

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed with the Cardoso many times and I have to say that it is truly the most hassle free hotel you could get in Maputo. It is not too big which means that the staff and facilities can be managed properly. The food is really nice, rooms are spacious and well maintained, the view is lovely and it is in a relatively central area of Maputo. For what the hotel charges you will probably not get better than that in Maputo.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea rather than city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear MAGELLAN 16

Thank you so much for taking the time to send your review of our hotel to TripAdvisor. I am particularly delighted to see your comments on the maintenance of the property. We take great pride in our ‘old lady’ and its super to see that our guests notice. Thanks again and I hope you will return to us again

Eugenio Dos Santos
GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had a great time, arrived atthe hotel without luggage, my luggage got lost , apparently it travelled on a later flight. The staff took all details and located my suitcase and collected it from the airport. No effort, I could go to my meeting.

Food is very good in their restaurant, Fiamma

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Card0s0, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Marius S

Many thanks for taking the trouble to send your opinion to TripAdvsior. It is always gratifying for us to see reviews from guests who have enjoyed our hospitality. Thanks again and I hope we will continue to be your preferred accommodation provider in Maputo for many years

Eugenio Dos Santos
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cardoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardoso

Address: Av. Martires de Moeda 707, Maputo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
#5 Business Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cardoso 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous Cardoso, whilst situated in the heart of Maputo, commands sweeping views over Maputo Bay and the City below. This is the perfect base from which to do business, host a conference, explore Mozambique's colourful history or merely relax and enjoy all the pleasures which come with a stay at Hotel Cardoso.Fresh, vibrant and stylish the internationally acclaimed Hotel Cardoso sits on the Maputo cliff top with spacious gardens, large swimming pool and idyllic terraces. All bedrooms benefit from being individually decorated and contain all the amenities you would expect of a deluxe international hotel. Upgrade to a suite to enjoy your own private, luxury lounge and balcony running the full length of your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cardoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardoso Hotel Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cardoso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.