We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went to inhaca for a day, stuck for two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inhaca Island

Inhaca Island
Maputo, Mozambique
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Maputo
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
1 review
“Went to inhaca for a day, stuck for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

On our holiday in catembe across from maputo we decided to go to inhaca for a day the first day we tried but the ferry was full and we were sent back, the mozam people are not the most organized bunch, so of we went the next day, problem was getting back , they just simply deceided not to return until monday te next day, bkamin the wearher but it was really not the case as we heard the captain was having a nice boozy lunch and used the weather as an excuse,there we were little money no spate clothes just imagine... Only hotel fully booked, luckily for us a friendly chap Jan from south africa had a place for us to stay at his lodge, maricio, and it was fantastic t o say the least, nice meal warm bed best value for money ever, we headed back at 4 am as we were unsure if there was going to be enough space on the ferry, a bit of a nightmare, o well we got going at 9 as te ferry was stuk on a sand bank, safely in maputo. 4 tips for inhaca have spare clothes cash time and dont fly out the next day, other than the state ferry beautiful beautiul island

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took the boat from Tan n Biki resort.The island is pretty, it was a nice day out, we enjoyed the day. Worth doing. Can be a bit pricey

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A small and friendly island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you're in Maputo and would apreciate a day or two in the sun, with all the quietness of a faraway beach, you have reached it in Inhaca Island!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My private paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The island is pristine and brings you to the real rural Africa. There is a variety of landscape types and vegetaion zones, of which the mangrove forests and tidal flats are the most important. People are friendly and the island is completely free of crime. You can move safely around (except for the snakes). The Lucas restaurant in the village serves the most delicious seefood meals. People are very friendly, but most of them speaks only Portuguese or Shangane, so you will not reach far with your English. The hotel is not too exciting, but that is not a problem as long as you enjoy your days outside the hotel premises.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pristine Island, Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed from Saturday until Sunday. I took the government ferry from Maputo, stayed for the night and came back the next day. I wish I had had more time.

It's a no-go for lovers of luxury. But if you enjoy nature and seeing tropical, untamed sights, if you're into birdwatching, colourful sunsets and fishing, this is the place for you.

I went to Santa Maria, a pristine beach on the island, and was amazed. As we exited the bush and entered the beach, literally *all* the group members released a "wow" at the sight of the beach. The water is chrystal clear, the sand is perfect, and there are plenty of sea shells for lovers of souvenirs.

I can only compare it to Zanzibar, which has whiter sand but is more touristy.

Inhaca is the perfect weekend getaway from Maputo, indeed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inhaca Island also viewed

 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Inhaca Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inhaca Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inhaca Island to your Saves list