We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere but sadly they will try rip you off.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Taverna

Restaurante Taverna
Corner Avenidas Mao Tse Tung and Armando Tivane | Av.julius nyerere n.967, Maputo, Mozambique
844 445 550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Maputo
Price range: $72 - $143
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: restaurante.taverna.moz@gmail.com
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Nice atmosphere but sadly they will try rip you off.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ordered a fish of the day , very limited choice of the cheapest fish around. If you try order an alternative a ,poor quality stone fish , as I I did , they triple the bill, and due to poor quality of fish go ahead and deep fry it instead of grilling it. Charged 1350 metecais for a poor quality fish ...that is R480. I wouldn't trust these guys again. Leaves a foul taste. Pity as it could be a nice place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Day specials are great ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been at the place in several ocasions. Just discovered recently the day special or "Prato do Dia" in portuguese. They even send me an SMS everyday.....If you get on their list you won't miss your favorite meal......and the good thing is : It's affordable and you could even share ....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Have been to this restaurant 4 times over past 12 months.
Service is very friendly and they have a very extensive wine list. The decor is sort of Portuguese country style which nice but a little weird as we are in Africa albeit Mozambique.
The tapa selection comes to the table and you chose whichever and how many you want.
The seafood is great. Had the Black Pig which was very overcooked - apparently this is the portuguese style. tried this pork chops next visit and asked for " medium " which was achieved and meat was very tasty and moist.
Will be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimoio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My previous visit to Taverna in its former location had been an excellent experience. This time I was disappointed. The larger dining room has retained its quaint 'rustic' appeal, and the wine list is just as extensive with wines to suit most budgets. Sadly though, on this occasion at least, the food was a disappointment. We skipped the platter of cheeses, cured meats etc and shared a seafood starter instead. The calamari was soft and tasty but the prawns were small and dry. As for the black pork main courses, perhaps the restaurant's specialty, both our dishes were totally overcooked and had little flavour; certainly this was not a dish worth the $30 equivalent price tag. The accompanying rice and beans was probably the best part of the meal. Service started badly on arrival, improved through the service, and ended appallingly when the entire staff team including management were so totally taken by the charms of a visiting VIP that not one had the courtesy to turn and thank us for our custom.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cannot believe this is not a top-3 restaurant in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The cousy atmosphere of a latino place, tapas wooden slabs ready on each table, irrespective of reservations, walls filled by wine bottles. High courtesy of personnel. I gave in soon and had a superb, mid-size lobster. Garlic-butter garnish was served with a candle underneath.
And many more attentions.
I was curious and asked some local residents why a Thai restaurant rates #1 and this place is below #10. I was told it is the price. I partially agree.
This gap "must" be bridged.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Taverna also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Restaurante Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.