We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful all round bloody good!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Base

The Base
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Base
Save
You added The Base to your Saves list
545 Avenue Patrice Lumumba, Maputo, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful all round bloody good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here a while back and had a wonderful experience. Sebastian at Reception was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Beds were fine, excellent price and Bathroom facilities were better than most.
Please do take into consideration you are staying in a Hostel and an African one at that. Dont expect anything fancy or Hotel like. The communal areas have enough space for all guests to Dine or watch some TV. The hostel is also around the corner from some really nice dining areas of the city and is not too far away from any amenities. They also offer a bus pick up an drop off service from right outside the Hostel. Take in the Easy Vibe the hostel offers, day and night and enjoy.
Im heading back to Moz soon and will definitely be staying here again.
Looking Forward to coming back. Thanks BASE!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed for one night in a Dorm, they were spacious and comfy, good bathroom facilities and clean. Staff were helpful and it has a good location. There is no camping available like the LP says.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Good value accomodation and the owner as well as staff are very helpful and friendly (in comparison with the terrible staff at Fatima's!).

Don't expect anything fancy though but it will keep you safe and dry during your visit to Maputo!

Also has good laundry service!

Room Tip: The basement is slightly claustrofobic but offers a cool environment on hoter days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Not sure what else people want, it's a cheap, clean, safe place to stay in Maputo. The owner was extremely helpful, if a hostel is what you're looking for then this place is great. Location is convenient for everything. They have one private room and if you want it, book in advance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I got no reply on my email and had to phone in my booking. It looks very run down even though clean. Very cheap but in my opinion for a good reason. As a couple we stayed in the double room. No plug points and that meant no fan. No mosquito net. At least the lady at reception was great! My partner stayed there 4 years ago and could not see anything that had improved. I would not likely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is a good place to stay in Maputo. Good neighbourhood and fine for walking to both down town areas and the upper city around 24th July Ave.

I liked:
- location
- security

I disliked:
- noise from water system (best not to stay in the downstairs rooms).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We fled the hostile atmosphere of Fatima's for this place and boy was it a relief. This place is pretty simple lodging, but the staff is friendly, helpful, and sincere. The loation is also great!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Base

Address: 545 Avenue Patrice Lumumba, Maputo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Maputo
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.