We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner in maputo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zambi

Zambi
Av 10 de Novembro 8, Maputo, Mozambique
843392624
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: email is restaurantezambi@gmail.com I have been to Maputo 4 times and this is the best restaurant in town
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in maputo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the best dinner me and my husband had in maputo..Wonderful atmosphere, very clean, excellent service and delicious seafood..I had the butterflied fish of the day. It was cooked to perfection. My husband had the grilled lobster tail which also was grilled to perfection. Never thought lobster tail would be this good when grilled..Friendly service..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    163
    38
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by friends in Maputo as the best place in Maputo so we really expected a wonderful gastronomic experience. Unfortunately we were rather let down and understood this is the fashionable place to be at the time because of its chic and trendy ambiance rather than a place to sample great food.
The decoration and atmosphere are very nice but the food is just OK, if anything a bit bland.
So is a nice place to spend an evening though rather expensive for local standards. Probably perfect for business meetings.
It was also regrettable that the staff didn't know much about the food or wine so couldn't really advise us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine dinning in Maputo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Many consider it as the best restaurant in Maputo. If wasn't from the fact that my entrée was blend, I would agree, but overall we had an excellent meal (the appetiser, the deserts and the other dishes were absolutely superb) in an good atmosphere and service.
My recommendation: beef with goat cheese sauce (and don't forget to order the garlic bread while you choose).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to go in Maputo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Definetely have the garlic bread! By far my favorite. While in Maputo, sea food and fish are always fresh and good options. Nice environment and service, although the prices are above average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Maputo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've been to Maputo a few times and so far Zambi has consistently delivered my best meals in town. Staff is very attentive and the food is superb! Fish is incredibly fresh and well prepared. Love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambi also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Zambi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zambi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.