We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious seafood restaurant by the ocean...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagres Shellfish Restaurant

Sagres Shellfish Restaurant
Av. Marginal 4272, Maputo, Mozambique
+258 21 395201
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood restaurant by the ocean...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A shout out to Sagres Shellfish Restaurant, in Maputo @ Av. Marginal 4272, Maputo, Mozambique. They have a lovely location right in front of the ocean (a very relaxing view), large facilities and most importantly, great food and great service! There were a bunch of us (maybe 15 or 17 people) in attendance and we had so much fun and ate so much! After eating inside, we decided to have coffee and dessert outside, which was lovely. Just take a look at some of their most popular dishes on line. The wine is also abundant and of large variety of choice. The staff knows how to advise you on what to drink with each food chosen. The quantities of the food are generous, but the quality is kept intact, which is not an easy task to do.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    107
    35
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
matola
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a place to visit in maputo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

this is really a restaurant worth a visit. the food is good, there is a variety on the menu, the view is awesome, you can sit inside or outside, depends on the weather. also the service is good.
hope to see you in Maputo!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The BEST seafood, ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I had travelled to Maputo for a quick weekend trip for my birthday and after looking through TA, decided to go to Sagres for Saturday lunch as we were in the mood for seafood. We absolutely loved this restaurant!! It is very quirky, quintessentially Mozambican, but more importantly, we had the best seafood we've ever had before. You have to try the clams to start - a huge bucketload which will have you licking your fingers - and then we had the house speciality of the grilled seafood platter (not the 'boiled' one) which had the most amazing array of shellfish and fish, all exceptionally fresh and delicious. Your visit to Maputo is not complete until you visit Sagres. Highly recommended by us and we have been lucky enough to have eaten seafood all over the world. Also, the cost is very, very reasonable for what you actually get. Loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,Fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Sea Food you can Eat in Maputo!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My second trip to Maputo, and a must to go and eat at Sagres! The seafood is the best ever! Great staff, great wine options, wonderful sea view, is a perfect place to enjoy Maputo with friends, full moon and wonderful seafood! Fresh, well prepared and right for the price, big portions, definitely will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“good fish, big crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very fine atmosphere, both indoors and outdoors, excellent food and friendly staff. A good spot for a cheerful evening!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagres Shellfish Restaurant also viewed

Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 
Maputo, Maputo Province
Maputo, Maputo Province
 

Been to Sagres Shellfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagres Shellfish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.